Friday Fictioneers: Tulips and Daffodils – C

I pledgeAnother week, and another prompt for the Friday Fictioneers graciously provided by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

The task is to write a story: beginning, middle, and end, in 100 words or less. You can find all the Fictioneers’ stories when you click on the Froggy. Please read, comment, and if you like, join the fun. Everyone is welcome.

People like me who like and need constructive criticism label their posts with a C, according to the guidelines of the Friday Fictioneers Concrit Subgroup.

Trying the dialogue again…

trg1
Image © The Reclining Gentleman

Tulips and Daffodils

“Daffodils. Tulips and Daffodils. What were you thinking?”

“I… I only…”

“Yeah, right. Only wasting our precious soil. The plan was to boost morale with that picnic. But you…”

“I thought they liked them.”

“Liked them? They were crying. This is bad.”

“Where is Dr. Cameron?”

“General Larsson! An honour. She’s right there. Please…”

“Leave us.”

“General?”

“Go! — Dr. Cameron, was it your idea to plant these flowers?”

“Yes…”

“Good! It was the perfect demonstration of what  terra-forming on Mars is all about. It’s not only about crops. Food fills our stomachs but beauty feeds our souls. Plant more flowers.”

(100 words)


first-flower-space-station01

Featured image: From http://www.space.com/31687-zinnia-not-first-flower-in-space.html — If you’re interested in flowers in space, read the article, it’s very interesting.

 

64 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers: Tulips and Daffodils – C

  1. Oo, all dialogue and no speech tags at all, with more than two people, how gutsy of you! It was a teensy bit confusing, but I think the important bits of who’s who came through. And I love the terraforming on Mars twist: nicely done.

    I tried the same all-dialogue technique with a longer short story. I only had two people going back and forth which was easier to keep track of but there was also a lot more “stuff” to get across, which was challenging. Check it out if you get the chance, G:
    https://talesofeneana.wordpress.com/2015/06/28/burning-questions/

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I like the idea of planting flowers on Mars and the General’s reaction to it. It was confusing at first to tell who was who with no attributions, but when I read it through the second time, I got it pretty well. With only 100 words to work with, minimalism rules. 🙂
    -David

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Great minds think alike and all that. 😉 Yours is a lovely story and I’ll go comment later. Sorry about that header thing… I usually comment through the in-linkz since it brings me directly to the stories and I can–kind of–keep track. I know that many others go through the reader though. I’ll have to look into that.. I like the featured photos, but readers’ comfort is more important. Thanks for mentioning it.

      Like

  3. I have been out in my cold damp garden counting which of my babies have survived the winter and cheering on the daffodils and tulips. A heart-warming story!
    I love potatoes (apparently they grow well in Martian soil and Matt Damon’s sh**.) and I adore flowers – I am definitely warming to your campaign on behalf of the cold planet.
    And well done on the dialogue only – I have never been quite so brave, but I agree with the spirit of experimentation. I had to work hard, but the story made complete sense to me.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Mars surely can need some warmth, but I’m afraid once there are people there, it’ll warm up faster than anyone would like… we seem to have a knack for that. I’m glad you found your way through my trialogue. Thank you! 🙂

      Like

      1. Ah, well if you like hard core science fiction with all the sciency stuff, you will love them.. the interpersonal stories woven between all of that is great too… there are three THICK books, Red Mars, Green Mars and Blue Mars ….And you are most welcome 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

    1. I think most astronauts know what’s important, they really seem delighted about their zinnias in the ISS. I’d think that at least early settlers would think likewise. I’m glad you liked, thank you Suzanne. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

