Share Your World – 2016 Week 7

041514-sywbannerWeek 7 in my part of the world annoys us with boring grey, somewhat wet and somewhat cold days. These are somewhat days, nothing is defined, it’s as if the weather is undecided. “Do I want to be winter after all? Should I proceed with spring? Winter, spring, winter, spring? Maybe I just sit it out. Yaaaawn…”

A good thing that there are challenges that stir things up. Away with the yawn, onwards with the fun. Here is  Cee’s Share Your World challenge .

What are you a “natural” at doing? 

I understand being a “natural” as something that can be learned easily but still needs study and work to be refined. I’d say I’m an absolute natural at reading. I taught that to myself at age 5 and never stopped reading since. Another thing  I’m really good at is making compost, improving garden soil, and growing tomatoes. I have a bit of a green thumb, but that is a learned achievement. The most surprising ‘natural’ achievement for me is working with computers. They really seem to like me. I work in IT support (nothing too complicated), and I’m one of these annoying people who only seem to have to look at it to make it work again. I can’t program well , but computering still makes me proud-ish. Macintosh_128k_transparencyFor the longest time I thought I was too stupid for computers. But then,  when I worked on my thesis, I needed statistics and found programming the t-test into my pocket calculater too tiresome. That’s when my love-affair with computers began. I’m too old to have grown up or grown naturally into computering, so for me this was a big deal.

Would you prefer a one floor house or multiple levels?

As long as there’s enough room, a garden, and a basement I don’t really care. I’m getting older so one floor would certainly be the easier option for the future.

What was your favorite subject in school?

Biology.

Complete this sentence: If only the rain.. 

came when and where it is needed.


1024px-Compost-dirt

Featured image: This image was originally posted to Flickr by normanack at http://flickr.com/photos/29278394@N00/2457055952. It was reviewed on 14 June 2009 by the FlickreviewR robot and was confirmed to be licensed under the terms of the cc-by-2.0.
Apple computer image: By w:User:Grm wnr – Modifications of Image:Macintosh 128k.jpg and w:Image:Macintosh 128k No Text.jpg, CC BY-SA 3.0, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=519781

14 thoughts on “Share Your World – 2016 Week 7

  1. I had an unusually grand idea once that I was going to start composting. That particular summer I got distracted though and my plans fell through. I had a small garden once, but a rabbit got to the vegetables before I could.
    I feel like I should be doing a better job at this. I come from a family of farmers, for Pete’s sake.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Gardening is a lot of work, and at the moment I don’t have much time for it. I come from a family of farmers (two generations removed), too. It’s always a fight against fungi and critters… I garden strictly without pesticides, so the occasional loss is pre-programmed. When the time for you is right, and you like it, you will do it. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Aha, finally, two things we are definitely NOT alike about! I have a total brown thumb when it comes to gardening, and computers hate me. I actually spend a fair amount of time with computers, and am constantly trying to fix mine, but the most common thing I ever hear when I finally do bring it in to the IT person is, “Hm, it’s not supposed to do that.” (Duh, yeah, I know!) Usually followed by an accusatory gaze and the words, “What did you do to it?” 😉

    As far as gardening, I am hoping that I am a late bloomer and one day my mother’s gardening gene will magically manifest. I would love to be able to grow tomatoes! Do you mostly grow vegetables, or are you a flower person too? I would love to have fresh herbs right outside my door, ahhh.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ah, the famous ‘it’s all the users’ fault’ stare… I can do that, but I don’t very often. Softy that I am, I’m having trouble saying no.
      About the garden… I only had my very own small garden once, the rest is ‘inherited’, not something I planned or started, but helped maintaining and carry on keeping somewhat in shape. I love flowers, and the garden is still full of them, but I don’t have enough time so the wild-ones (there are no weeds 😉 ) are taking over. We have mostly different kinds of lettuce in the garden, that keeps us with fresh vitamins (and all the other good planty things) for almost all year. And we have herbs. Growing herbs is fairly easy because most of them don’t require much nutirent and water and are fairly hardy. I garden without pesticides–so it’s not always successful, that’s just nature. Depending on what you want, a good book from a reputable garden journalist, some mind of climate zone, the plants’ requirement, lot size, and the amount of time you have–and you’re good to go. I have a very good book, but it’s in German. Before I worked in IT, I worked as a botanist in organic pest and disease control research, so there’s a lot of background from there.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. A garden full of lettuce sounds wonderful! The main challenge I have now is lack of a good sunny space. I’m in an apartment, so no garden for me My balcony is large enough for some potted plants, but all the herbs I’ve tried have died — it simply doesn’t get enough sun. If I was a more avid gardener, I might rent gardening space somewhere else, but most weeks I’m doing well to water the plants on my own balcony. 😉 Hopefully in my next home I’ll have a better set up, and then I can get more practice. Having experience as a botanist would be a great help, I’d think!

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Some cities (I know of them in Germany, and in Canada, maybe in the US too) have garden lots that are maintained by farmers. They plough, provide seeds and help with advice. The rest is up to you. I think this would be a great thing to try things out. I’m considering something like this when I get older and think of downsizing. A smaller lot at the house can be more easily maintained, and when you can’t do the garden work any more, you just give it up without worries.

          Liked by 1 person

          1. That sounds lovely. But I live in a dense, expensive area – I’d have to drive 20+ minutes to get to anything like that, and by that point I’d rather just walk ten minutes to the grocers. My dream is to be able to walk outside and cut fresh herbs for tonight’s dinner, but that will have to wait until at least my next move, I’m afraid.

            Liked by 1 person

            1. Some cities have garden lots too. They are small and done totally by the neighbors – no farmers involved. Maybe you can look into one of those? You can grow a small herb garden indoors. I keep trying, but either my cats eat them or the temperature drops too much and they die. I have a brown thumb as well and I went to a school with an agriculture program. This is really strange for a city like New York. My problem has always been that I want to do things that I am not a natural at!

              Liked by 1 person

              1. I will not start to list all the things I don’t succeed in because I’m too clumsy, too lazy etc. I wouldn’t be finished before tomorrow. Some things we just need to accept. 😉 If you want something green in the room: spiderplants are really, really hard to kill. 😀

                Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

