Friday Fictioneers: Ticktock – C

I pledgeAnother week, and another prompt for the Friday Fictioneers graciously provided by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

The task is to write a story: beginning, middle, and end, in 100 words or less. You can find all the Fictioneers’ stories when you click on the Froggy. Please read, comment, and if you like, join the fun. Everyone is welcome.

People like me who like and need constructive criticism label their posts with a C, according to the guidelines of the Friday Fictioneers Concrit Subgroup.

crook

Ticktock

Time heals all wounds they say, but I think that’s a lie. I’m bleeding badly and the tourniquet I amateurishly applied to my leg doesn’t really help much.

I barely had time to raise the alarm before the drones arrived and the lasers sent me flying. Something broke inside, probably some ribs, but the leg wound bothers me more. There’s too much blood. I’m running out of time.Onyxstar_Fox-C8_XT_xender_360

I smell burning flesh. The screams and explosions have stopped. Time stands still. Did we win?

“Here’s another one!” A medic runs towards me and I feel dizzy with relief.

“About time!”

(100 words)

I’ve been experimenting with the images a bit this time around and made the prompt picture into the featured image. Why did I do this? Because in the reader, the featured image always shows up on top. If you don’t have a featured image, the reader picks an image from the post randomly, apparently. This makes identifying the post as FF post easier in the reader. On the other hand, with my layout, that simply doesn’t look good because the image is blown up and only partly visible. I like that effect–it is great for ‘illustration images’ I think, but for the prompt it’s not so great. I’ll keep it this time because Sandra’s picture still shows sufficiently. But next time I’ll go back to the ‘old ways’. Why is that important, you ask? I like to make the blog easy to read for visitors, but I also like a nice design that appeals to me. Most of you probably don’t even notice, because hopping from one story to the next doesn’t give us much time to enjoy people’s blog designs (although I always notice).   If you wondered however, here’s your explanation. And now I’ve probably completely distracted you and you forgot my story.  😉 Sorry…


Featured image:  © Sandra Crook. Used with permission for this Friday Fictioneer Challenge only. Any other use of this image requires Sandra’s permission.
Drone picture: By ZullyC3P – Own work, CC BY-SA 4.0, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=43597088

 

63 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers: Ticktock – C

  1. Very intense story, such a great snippet of what’s hinted to be a much larger war. I liked the extra picture of the drone, too.

    For the photos, I find that whatever photo I put nearest the top of my post ends up as the one in the Reader. In my own “My sites / Blog posts” page, sometimes it’s the second photo instead, which is weird – like you say, a little random. But since nobody else sees that, I’m okay. I think it must be different with your theme, because I don’t have a “featured” image.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, I wanted to do a bit ‘actiony’ for practice, and am glad that this came over.
      About the pictures, yes, it seems pretty random. I originaly wanted a big spacy header, but found more and more NASA images I liked, so I had them rotate but realized that they take ages to load for some people. Then I discovered the featured images, and thought: why not put an ‘oomph’ picture that fits the post up as featured, and keep the header simple. That’s what I still like. But the featured ones always show in the reader.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, I’m glad you liked. 🙂 Thanks for the link, that is very interesting. Drones fascinate, but also scare me, but that could be said of every new invention, I guess. It always depends on who does what with them. ATM we can see them, but what if they are as small as a bee (which they will be sooner rather than later)? Everyone can spy on everyone? Drone detection devices? I think it’s about time someone invented a personal shield…

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I love the hook in your first couple of lines. I was instantly transported to the battlefield in a subtle and unexploited way. Then the rest of the piece was sharp and consistent with those few lines. Loved every word of it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I hear you and sympathize. I’m fascinated by the possibilities (nature and wildlife surveillance for instance, hunting down poachers, protecting endangered species, dangerous situations in contaminated areas and so on, and so on…)–but they also scare me for the possibilities non-well meaning people will have with them. I guess this is always the consequence of new things. Thank you.

      Like

  3. Dear Gabriele,

    No need to explain the look of your blog or the way you arrange the pictures. All I ask is that the prompt is included. As you may have noticed I use artwork or other photos also and sometimes a video to get the message across.

    Very well done story. Intense and evocative. Applause!

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Rochelle, I’m glad you liked the story.
      About the pictures: I know… but sometimes readers see things differently and I appreciate it when they tell me that something is hard to read, or to find or such.

      Like

  4. I agree with the featured image problem, I faced it too and so I started searching for another inspiring images with relate to my story, and at times which end up inspiring me to write a story…to be take place as the featured one.

    Loved your take on the prompt.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Burning flesh, screams and explosions. Oh, my! It is about time they came. Great capturing of a dire situation. As for your Featured Image issue, I have an issue, too. I’d like to just display an image on the front page that way, but no, it must also replace my header image. It’s not perfect. I feel your pain!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, it’s always either or with these images, isn’t it? The only option for changing that is to pay the css version where you can program your own layout.
      I’m glad you liked the story, thank you! 🙂

      Like

    1. Thank you, Liz, I’m glad you liked the story. Never mind about the picture thing, it’s a wordpress thing, I don’t know if the google blogger has something similar. It’s just a bit of chat about format and making the blog pretty.

      Like

  6. The afterward was interesting. I’ve actually been paying a lot of attention the the layout of the different blog pages. Some seem much more customized than others, there are many different layouts. Yours stood out because of the banner of prompt…it’s intriguing and I enjoy it. Story? Oh, yes… I liked the picture you painted – smell of flesh burning, the sneak attack, potentially bleeding to death, even the shortness when a medic finally shows – harsh and real. I liked that time was an element and not the main focus.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. I’m glad you liked the story too. 😀 I’m a visual person, and the layout is important to me, so I play around a lot. I appreciate when readers tell me if something doesn’t work.

      Like

  7. I was reading the explanation and I realized I never really noticed that before (the image bit). I think for me it is more important to have a font that is easy to read (and so it is). Now I’ve forgotten the story…just kidding 😉 I thought it had a little bit of black humour in it that I liked.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thnk you! Yes, font is important for me, too, and colours and contrast. I usually run my layout designs through vischeck, an online program that tells you how color blind people would see the site. Contrast is most important for that. I’m glad you found the humour, I see the narrator as a tough cookie with a very dry humour.

      Like

Leave a Reply

