Share Your World – 2016 Week 9

041514-sywbannerIt’s cold-ish. I want spring now. But if the last few years are any indication, it will be like this: a grey, too warm winter. A cold spell in early spring, after the plants start to shoot, then maybe two days of spring-like weather. After that heat and drought until summer. And then rain…

Enough weather talk, it gets old. Onwards to  Cee’s Share Your World challenge .

Have you done something you truly want to do today?

Not yet today, I’m still at work and using my late lunch break for posting. But yesterday I started an online course: An Introduction to Screenwriting on FutureLearn. I have no intention of becoming a skript writer, but I find the course content very interesting and helpful for any kind of fiction writing. I hope to get a clearer picture about beats, generating tension, setting a scene and moving the story forward. It’s only two weeks, so I should be able to go through with it. I’ve done half of week 1 yesterday and it has been fun. I’m looking forward to later today when I’ll be continuing.

It is a terrible thing, this kindess that human beings do not lose. Terrible, because when we are finally naked in the dark and cold, it is all we have. We who are so rich, so full of strength, we end up with that small change. We have nothing else to give. - Ursula K. Le Guin

What can you help the world with?

I could say that I had my scientific discovery to help the world in the past, but the world wasn’t all that impressed. In everyday life I strive to be good at and helpful with what I do. I consider IT support a service, and helping staff in a hospital to go about their own (often critical) work smoothly is what I actively do for the world.Love doesn't just sit there, like a stone; it has to be made, like bread, remade all the time, made new. - Ursula K. Le Guin

 

If life was ‘just a bowl of cherries’… which fruit other than a cherry would you be..?

An apple. Ordinary, but powerful. (insert evil cackle).

Quotes List: At least three of your favorite quotes?

I don’t really have a favourite quote. I like people who say intelligent and insightful things, and when they are quoted, maybe I re-quote. The other day I participated at the Three Quote Challenge here in the blogosphere and used Ursula K. Le Guin quotes on writing. There are many more quotes from her, so I’ll just chose three I like and throw them around in this post.Our model of the cosmos must be as inexhaustible as the cosmos. A complexity that includes not only duration but creation, not only being but becoming, not only geometry but ethics. It is not the answer we are after, but only how to ask the question. - Ursula K. Le Guin

There you go, thank you, Cee, as always for the fun questions. Have a good week everyone.


Apples_on_tree_2011_G1Featured image: Apples on Tree by George Chernilevsky (Own work) [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons

3 thoughts on “Share Your World – 2016 Week 9

  1. Apples are powerful, ha ha — nice cackle. 😉 And more great Ursula K LeGuin quotes, hooray!

    Interesting question, whether I’ve done anything I truly want to do today. It’s early morning, so…. pet my cat is probably the best one so far. I refuse to say “shower”!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

