A Picture Paints A Thousand Words: Friday Fictioneers Flash Fiction – C

I pledgeAnother week, another prompt for the Friday Fictioneers graciously provided by our Fairy Blog Mother Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

The task is to write a story: beginning, middle, and end, in 100 words or less. You can find all the Fictioneers’ stories when you click on the Froggy. Please read, comment, and if you like, join the fun. Everyone is welcome.

If you wonder about the C in the title: it means that I welcome constructive criticism, according to the guidelines of the Friday Fictioneers Concrit Subgroup.

A Picture Paints A Thousand Words

“Expedition logs aren’t enough to keep up public interest. The sponsors want something a bit more exciting.Javier closed the company’s dispatch and turned to his wife.

“I suppose we need to battle aliens to make them happy back there.”

“Everything is going so well. It’d break my heart if we had to give it up.” Diane shook her head and continued sorting rock samples into small glass jars. Javier stared at the neatly labelled jars stacked on a shelf.

“I have an idea,” he muttered.

Three months later another missive came. “Martian dust paintings a huge hit. Make more.”

Compressed_Sand_bottle_Needles_Isle_of_Wight

 

(100 words) (For some reason this prompt gave me more trouble than usual. Sorry if this is a bit silly.)


copyight-sean-fallonFeatured image © Sean Fallon. Used with permission for this Friday Fictioneer Challenge only. Any other use of this image requires Sean Fallon’s permission.

Sand painting image by Brian Pike, environmental sand artist. (Own work) [CC BY 3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0)%5D, via Wikimedia Commons. This picture of The Needles, Isle of Wight is composed entirely of natural coloured sands compressed inside a clear glass bottle without the use of any adhesive, and was inspired by the sand jars created by the deaf mute Andrew Clemens, in Mcgregor, Iowa during the 1870s to 90s. He made over 1000 of these delicate sand jars of which about 50 have survived to the present day and are highly prized by collectors!

50 thoughts on “A Picture Paints A Thousand Words: Friday Fictioneers Flash Fiction – C

  1. I haven’t seen a sand painting in so long, that really brings me back. And wow, what a detailed one! Great take on the prompt, and I didn’t think it was silly. The more I think about it, the more I think Martian sand paintings would really sell!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. 🙂 I have a few jars stored away somewhere during one of my many moves… but they aren’t as artfully done as this. Enough to make me admire the skill though. I’m glad you like the idea.

      Liked by 1 person

          1. Well, I would not say that we did it in THAT amount of fine detail, no! But the general concept, yes. With my mom being an artist, we tried just about every art form at least once when we were kids.

            Liked by 1 person

            1. That sounds like so much fun. My childhood best friend and I wanted to be artists and we tried out all kinds of things, too, but actually having an artist mum at hand: heaven. 🙂

              Like

  2. Sand painting is new to me and, having looked it up, it seems to cross cultures and come in many forms – I suppose the resource required is widely available. So the fact it has reached Mars, if only fictionally, seems highly appropriate!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. 🙂 I’m glad you found something new here. I had a bit of a cold last week, and tried several starts with the prompt, and all went to the trash. Finally I went with this one, but my head hurt and it was more like a ‘let’s get on with it’ rather than ‘I think this could be good.’

      Like

    1. The collective memory and attention span is very, very short as we see in politics every day. And we saw with the apollo missions (and I think now with the ISS as well) how fast people lose interest in something as groundbreaking as space exploration. I’m glad you like it. Thank you, Björn.

      Like

  3. I think this is really cool, Gah. I don’t think it’s silly at all. It must have taken a lot of patience to produce that sand painting. I like where you went with the prompt. You just never know what you’ll end up with, right?! A lot of stories spoke of collections, but this one is very rare. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

