Riders On The Storm-Friday Fictioneers Flash Fiction

I pledgeAnother week, another prompt for the Friday Fictioneers graciously provided by our Fairy Blog Mother Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

The task is to write a story: beginning, middle, and end, in 100 words or less. You can find all the Fictioneers’ stories when you click on the Froggy. Please read, comment, and if you like, join the fun. Everyone is welcome.

Riders On the Storm

They ride on the storm like thunder-gods of old. Storm clouds are their allies: they ritualize the carnage, exalt death. All you can do is run.

The people don’t run; they are mesmerized. Some already pray to the creatures of darkness as if they’d grant mercy, or justice. Blood sacrifice for powers they don’t understand seems to give their meaningless deaths an impact they wouldn’t otherwise have. Fools!

The clouds come closer. I thought I was safe in this abandoned city. I’m not. Fool!

My hands shake. I know what they really are, they are no gods. I run faster.

Raijin

(100 words)

The title comes from The Doors: Riders on the storm.


emmylgantFeatured image © Emmy L Gant Used with permission for this Friday Fictioneer Challenge only. Any other use of this image requires Emmy L. Gant’s permission.

Thundergod image: Wooden sculpture of Raijin, the God of Thunder. Located at the Hawaii Shingon MissionBy D100763 – Own work, CC BY-SA 3.0, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=14796681

54 thoughts on “Riders On The Storm-Friday Fictioneers Flash Fiction

    1. Thank you, Rochelle.
      There was a feature about that song on the radio the other day, and as soon as I saw thepicture: boom, music in my head. 🙂 I had trouble with the last few prompts, I’m glad the ‘instant idea’ still works from time to time.

      Like

  1. I love that song. So atmospheric, as was your piece. I really liked the way you lent no substance to ‘them’. As I’ve always said, the mind can always create a greater horror than words could possibly achieve. Well done.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love the intensity and the connection to the song is great. Such a perfect title. The question is will they ever be able to defeat the riders? My guess is they can’t! Great piece, Gah. Loved this one.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ancient behaviour… you raise a good question, Suzanne. I don’t think it’s ancient, sadly. I see very many people still behave like that. Thank you, sorry for the late reply.

      Like

  3. When you explain it like that, I understand, but sadly they don’t always pray to ancient gods. There are believers in the main religions today who justify their behavior.even though it doesn’t follow those religions. Their behavior is ancient as it’s based on hate and revenge and only a type of love that cares for those who believe just like them.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

