It burns — Friday Fictioneers Flash Fiction

I pledgeLast week has flown by and I’ve been so busy with work, I hardly had time to read and comment on other stories. I’m sorry about that, I really miss this because reading other stories is half of the fun of this challenge. On top of it I had signed up to a screen writing course on FutureLearn which was fun and interesting. I don’t want to write movie scripts, but it was quite enlightening for me to see the difference between screen writing and short stories or novels. If I find the time, I’ll post a bit more about it on this blog.

And so we arrived in another week, and another prompt for the Friday Fictioneers is graciously provided by our Fairy Blog Mother Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

The task is to write a story: beginning, middle, and end, in 100 words or less. You can find all the Fictioneers’ stories when you click on the Froggy. Please read, comment, and if you like, join the fun. Everyone is welcome.

It burns

They said I wasn’t good enough for you yet you kept staring at me from your window. I wanted to be with you: in your room, in your house across the river.

I loved you so much I wished me there.

That night of passion will have to last a lifetime but it was lust, not love. You had to tell them, didn’t you?

They called me witch and tore my tongue out but I don’t need it to ignite our passion one last time. With all my might I wish you here: bound to my stake, on my pyre.

(100 words)


antiques-along-the-mohawk

 

 

Featured image ©Rochelle Wisoff-Fields Used with permission for this Friday Fictioneer Challenge only. Any other use of this image requires Rochelle’s permission.

 

70 thoughts on “It burns — Friday Fictioneers Flash Fiction

    1. Thank you. I wanted to learn a bit more about beats, and how to set a scene. It was only a very short course, so things were kept to the point and more of an overview than in-depth study, but it was fun. To me it was a bit of a relevation how much an actor actually brings to the screen. A lot more than I thought.

      Like

      1. My writing is very visual and descriptive, I am lousy with dialogue and not very good with plot lines. Someone suggested screen writing once upon a time. I wish I took more writing courses only a couple in college and some workshops her and there. sigh.

        Looking forward to hearing more about your experience.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. The advice I read most consistently is: write, write again, and write a lot. 🙂 I haven’t taken any ‘analog’ writing courses since writing hasn’t been something I considered until late in life. There is a lot of advice on the web, but you need to pick out what works for you. What I find most helpful are other people, other writers, and online courses are a way to connect with them. I’ve never really considered myself to be a writer, and jumped into the FF group rather naively and only learned later what an accomplished group this is. But people here are so supportive of each other, it’s great..
          I thought I was decent with plot, but the thing I struggle with now–ouch. I can’t even decide on the pov.
          And I like your stories.

          Liked by 1 person

  1. Oh, he’s going to regret gabbing about that one. I took a screenwriting course once! I thought it was pretty fun. Flash fiction lends itself well to screenwriting with the brevity and all. Great story, Gah. I can’t seem to get my act together yet.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Amy. Yes, it’s fun, but I don’t allow myself to try the script writing in earnest. I did the exercises for the course though, and used some of the FF stories that are in my ‘space history’ backstory thing as a theme. Good luck with your muse, maybe offer her or him some chocolate… 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s interesting how often the same themes are coming up. Your piece shares with mine the ideas of forbidden love and of the river as a division.Others *(but fewer) have used the river as a channel of communication. I loved the dark loving vengeance of her wishing her lover on her pyre

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I’m glad you enjoyed the story. You’re right, rivers often are used as divides, or as a symbol for life, or death… and there were a lot of murders this week too. 😀 I like seeing all the different ideas, it’s part of why I enjoy FF so much.

      Like

    1. Thank you for your great feedback! With the fire I’ve been leaning heavily on the ‘fight fire with fire’ mentality of some religions, and their attitude towards passions of all kinds. I’ve just twisted it a bit around.

      Like

  3. I’m certainly glad those days are long gone. If you didn’t like someone you called them a witch and there went their future up in flames, literally. Sadists had a field day. Well done, Gah. I’ve read that screenwriting has things in common with regular writing. There’s a great book about screenwriting called “Save the Cat” by Blake Snyder. I have the ebook of it. Well done. — Suzanne

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Looking at the world I wonder if these days are really gone. Thank you, Suzanne. I’ve learned a few things in that course that are also helpful for regular writing. Many of these tips and tricks resemble each other, some are more useful than others. This course propagates a five-and ten finger pitch which is fun.

      Like

      1. You’re right, Gah. In some parts of the world, this is still going on. In fact, in India, sorcery is still practiced. ,It’s heartrending when you read that children are often the victims. Wherever there is a serious lack of education and good sense these practices will continue. —- Suzanne

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

