Old, Not Obsolete – Friday Fictioneers Flash Fiction

 

I pledgeIt’s Wednesday, and time for a new prompt for the Friday Fictioneers, which is graciously provided by our Fairy Blog Mother Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

The task is to write a story: beginning, middle, and end, in 100 words or less. You can find all the Fictioneers’ stories when you click on the Froggy. Please read, comment, and if you like, join the fun. Everyone is welcome.

Old, Not Obsolete

“You gotta live with me, Mum!”

“I don’t want to. I’m fine where I am.”

“You’ll be lonely. And now without Dad… I want to look after you.”

“I have friends, Carol.”

“But if something happens? Here in the city…”

“We have everything I need back home. Hospital. Internet.  Retirement home.”

“You’re not going into one of those.”

“It’s my choice, child. When I look out your window all I see is concrete. I want to see flowers and trees… hear the birds sing.”

“But I love you, Mum. We don’t see each other often enough.”

“What’s wrong with Skype?”

(100 words)


This answer to the prompt was triggered by an article I read on the German Huffington Post last week. It was an article or blog post by someone describing, “What it feels like when the parents get old.” The parents of this author were 58! The article was memorable in its stupidity. So I got a bit ranty.


mg-buildings

 

Featured image © Marie Gail Stratford Used with permission for this Friday Fictioneer Challenge only. Any other use of this image requires Marie Gail’s permission.

55 thoughts on “Old, Not Obsolete – Friday Fictioneers Flash Fiction

    1. Thank you. I guess it very much depends on the circumstances. If a family is close, expectations of being cared for by family may be stronger than when people move around a lot, and everyone follows their own wishes (as is the case in many families these days). I guess it also depends on where you live, how much money you have, how retirement homes are run where you live, if a stay in hospital eats up your savings or if your country has a good health care and long-term care program and so on, and so on.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Dear Gabriele,

    58’s old? I like the mom’s style in this. I suspect she’s not going to either hospital or retirement home any time soon. I’m with her, though. Living with my children would not be an option. Well written.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Rochelle. I don’t have kids but if I had, I don’t think I would want to live with them. Some families live close together, or even in the same house, and then it may be a given. But why should people who follow their own paths all of a sudden be thrown together (because of ill-placed feelings of guilt or duty)? It depends on where and how you live too, I guess.

      Like

    1. Maybe I’m biased, I know a lot of happily independent old people, in and out of retirement homes. I guess it depends on where you live, money available, how well you’ve planned ahead and all that. I’m glad you liked, thank you, Dr. Ali. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I repentantly returned to two people in the dialogue, which is much easier than the three I tried a while ago (and no one knew who was speaking to whom). 😉 I’m glad you liked, thank you.

      Like

    1. Thank you! Mine too. She always was alone and had one acquaintance whom she visited daily (that lady never visited back). Now she has a circle of friends, bosses staff around, made friends with the cook, and laughs a lot. In this day and age it doesn’t always mean abandonment, and not all retirement homes are bad (though some still are awful). 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I guess they still might be in the minority. A colleague of mine regularly skypes with her eighty-year-old mum who doesn’t want to move away from the area. And I’ve heard several more of these stories.

      Like

    1. With good planning ahead, different scenarios can work very well. I found it’s mostly the ‘illness, what now?’ scenario where people get completely overwhelmed. It’s great for your mum to be so independent. Thank you. 🙂

      Like

  2. Interesting. As I age, I think of so many things, this included. Kids, no matter how old we get they do not seem to think of us as individuals. This is a wonderful reminder (to me) to hold on to my individuality.. I’m a person, dammit, until the day I die.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Yes! I hope Mum gets to hold onto her identity. I know when the time comes, I want my SweetJane to live her own life, and hopefully visit when she can. I would not want my baby to see me revert to a child in old-age. Who am I kidding, lol, I will not be a cute little-old-lady. If I happen to make it that far, I intend to be just as demented as I am today.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Margaret. I found, partly through own experience, that people often misuderstand each other even though they want the best. Kids think they have to take in the parents, they don’t want to be a burden, retirement homes still have a bad rep (even though there are some that give excellent care, at least where I live). I wanted to show that they love each other.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

