Share Your World – 2016 Week 14

041514-sywbannerMy days off work are over, back to the grind. 😦

It’s really warm now, which is nice. I don’t have more to tell, so off we go to week 14 of Cee’s Share Your World challenge.

If you could hire someone to help you, would it be with cleaning, cooking, or yard work?

And where’s the Butler? I take it all: cook, house keeper, gardener, thank you kindly. 😀

What makes you laugh the most?

The antics of my dog. She gets funnier every day.

What was your favorite food when you were a child?

Something called Reibekuchen in German. It’s a kind of potato pancake made with raw grated potatoes and fried in a pan. We traditionally eat it with apple sauce, some regions eat it with plum jam. I still love it, but it’s high in calories, therefore I don’t make it that often.

List at least five favorite flowers or plants.

All of them, I’m a botanist. My favourite flowers are always dependent on the time of year, I usually love the most what’s there right now. I love tulips, lilac, roses, forget-me-nots, peonies, magnolias, sun flowers… everything.

And that’s it for this week. I don’t do the grateful question regularly, since the answer is always the same: I’m thankful that everyone I care for is still healthy. I look forward to the weekends with the family. Nothing new under the sun here. 🙂 Thank you for the questions, Cee.


Reibekuchen_hausgemacht

Featured image: Reibekuchen by Uhlerborner – Own work, CC BY-SA 4.0, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=45942221

18 thoughts on “Share Your World – 2016 Week 14

    1. It is also called Kartoffelpuffer-potato-err… cushion? No idea why they are called this, there is nothing puffy or cushiony about them. You grate potatoes and an onion, press the water out of the potato, add eggs, parsley and and a little salt, and mix it all together. (http://www.livingathome.de/kochen-feiern/rezepte/10903-rzpt-rezept-reibekuchen) Then you fry them in a pan with a bit of fat or oil unil the edges are crispy brown. It could be eaten with salad or some other vegetable, but most Germans traditionally eat it with a sweet fruit sauce.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Potato cushion, I like that. Well we’d call them potato pancakes, and they’re not much like pancakes either. The fact they’re fried in a pan, true, and I guess the shape, a bit. But fine, the important thing is that they are fried potatoes, YUM! Where I’m from (Michigan) we eat them with applesauce.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. These are latkes? I heard about them, but had no idea what they were. 🙂 You learn something new every day…
      We can buy it in boxes too, or pre-prepared and frozen. But the home-made ones taste better. Thanks.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Here, the daffodils are blooming along with some star shaped blue flowers from bulbs. The snow drops and crocuses are done and the tulips haven’t arrived yet… not that I have more than a few tulips in my own backyard. The deer eat them almost as soon as they bloom or even before! I love looking through the garden in the spring to see what life is popping up 🙂 Spring certainly is awesome!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

