Out of Ruins – Friday Fictioneers Flash Fiction

I pledgeIt’s time for a new prompt for the Friday Fictioneers, which is graciously provided by our Fairy Blog Mother Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

The task is to write a story: beginning, middle, and end, in 100 words or less. You can find all the Fictioneers’ stories when you click on the Froggy. Please read, comment, and if you like, join the fun. Everyone is welcome.

Out of Ruins

Dark. Light. Dark.

The leafless trees create a pattern of stripes, they are like cheerless fences in a wasted landscape.

Once stripes spoke of life: the vibrant black and white of zebras, the mysterious light and shadow of tigers. Do I even remember what they looked like?

Ruins are everywhere: dead trees, dilapidated houses, drained people with eyes like broken windows. But it’s not death that makes us empty; it’s the lack of dreams.

I pick up some soil and smell it. It holds a promise. I shall plant seeds and water them with my tears. Let there be hope.

(100 words)


jhardy

 

Featured image © J Hardy Carroll Used with permission for this Friday Fictioneer Challenge only. Any other use of this image requires J. Hardy Carroll’s permission.

76 thoughts on “Out of Ruins – Friday Fictioneers Flash Fiction

  1. Beautiful. I love the hopeful ending. Your main character can still dream. Evocative images and mood. I also really like the way you used the idea of stripes to recall the animals that are now gone.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Margaret. It’s funny, most weeks I write one story, then don’t like it and then write another. Yesterday I wrote one, then the background on my computer changed to a picture with Zebras (it changes every few minutes)… I looked at the stripes, and the first story was trashed, and the new one was written. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Beautifully described scene and emotions! As always, GahLearner, your stories move me! Loved this one, especially these lines:

    “But it’s not death that makes us empty; it’s the lack of dreams.

    I pick up some soil and smell it. It holds a promise. I shall plant seeds and water them with my tears. Let there be hope.”

    I resonate completely with that.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Water with tears! Oh no, Gah. I hope there is some hope in those tears. I like the line that says it’s not death that makes us empty, it’s the lack of dreams. That just grabbed me. Nice, Gah.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

