Rapunzel Rebooted- Friday Fictioneers Flash Fiction

I pledgeWednesday again, time for a new prompt for the Friday Fictioneers, who could also call themselves Ice Cream Fictioneers if I look at the reviews to last week’s story. ;). The prompt is graciously provided by our Fairy Blog Mother Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

The task is to write a story: beginning, middle, and end, in 100 words or less. You can find all the Fictioneers’ stories when you click on the Froggy. Please read, comment, and if you like, join the fun. Everyone is welcome.

I’ve been a bad reviewer last week, sorry about that. I’m so busy that I hardly get anything done.  And then a story idea hops into my head right away… so what else can you do than quickly write it down before it flutters away? That way at least I’ll have more time to read and review more of your stories this week, dear FF friends. Hopefully…

Rapunzel Rebooted

There, all done. Barbed wire will do it. Nothing else helped.

I haven’t  pampered my veggies only to have them stolen every other night. It’s not as if you could go and buy them. Tonight they’ll be safe.

I wake from a scream. Gotcha! Clad in bathrobe and slippers I run outside.

“Thief!”

He holds his bleeding leg, sobbing and shame-faced. It’s only a boy: too small, too thin.

“Why did you do it?” My heart melts at his tear-filled eyes.

“Mum’s unwell. Healer said greens help.”

“So they do.” I get a basket. “And tomorrow we’ll pick strawberries.”

(100 words)


barbed2bwire2bprompt1

Featured image © Madison Woods. Used with permission for this Friday Fictioneer Challenge only. Any other use of this image requires Madison Wood’s permission.

92 thoughts on “Rapunzel Rebooted- Friday Fictioneers Flash Fiction

    1. I like the tale too. One of my cats, a long-hair, was named Rapunzel. 😀 Thank you, Rochelle. About the ice cream: Last week I wrote a story about kids who steal instructions for building fridges and freezers. They conclude that then they’ll have ice cream. And most if not all of the comments were about how important ice cream as a top priority is. I think I’m onto something with the ICF 😉

      Like

  1. I am reminded of the Star Trek episode about the race which took, without asking, because the answer might have been NO.
    Lovely sympathetic turnaround at the end. I think most of us have a kind, understanding side. A heartwarming tale, well told. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lovely response to the prompt Gabi – has a post-apocalyptic feel to the story – the well protected veggies etc.Love your narrator’s response when she sees it’s a small boy – she’s a good heart.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. There is such a lovely “justice” in this – clearly there is some sort of want and need, lack of ready availability, and yet, the beauty of the truth as it is revealed, is at least, quite pleasing, considering the end actions. Wonderful read 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yup, because as soon as he was back with his peers, basket full with fresh greens, they’d have a hearty laugh about that dense old garden owner. Or not. Could go many ways. Thank you.

      Like

    1. I’ve always been sorry for poor Rapunzel and the strain on her scalp, even if she fixes the hair to a hook or something. And all that conditioner she needs, sheesh… 😉 I’m glad you enjoyed it, thank you.

      Like

Leave a Reply

