Cryptography – Friday Fictioneers Flash Fiction

I pledgeWednesdays bring a new prompt for the Friday Fictioneers, graciously provided by our Fairy Blog Mother Rochelle Wisoff-Fields. I’m always glad when I can post early, then I have more time to read and comment my fellow Fictioneers’ stories. Since there are around 100 entries each week, there is a lot to read and comment, which makes up half of the fun of this challenge.

The task is to write a story: beginning, middle, and end, in 100 words or less. You can find all the Fictioneers’ stories when you click on the Froggy. Please read, comment, and if you like, join the fun. Everyone is welcome.

Cryptography

The performers line up for the dance. Some stand alone, others in groups. In perfect rhythm their artful steps weave magic on the audience. The Elites are spellbound. The Serfs are proud.

Marcus counts the dancers at every brief pause. Three solo, a group of nine, five solo. His eidetic memory records the numbers in the exact order. He smiles; he doesn’t need the analysts to decode the message. The Underground’s been planning this for weeks.

In plain sight of the enemy the dancers tell him, “Attack Salt Creek Compound 11pm August seven.”

The Elites won’t know what hit them.

(100 words)


 

grey-day-with-pigeons-roger-bultot

Featured image ©Roger Bultot. Used with permission for this Friday Fictioneer Challenge only. Any other use of this image requires Roger Bultot’s permission.

71 thoughts on “Cryptography – Friday Fictioneers Flash Fiction

  1. What an interesting take on the prompt, I love it! And communicating in public through the use of hidden codes is a great story line; I don’t even have to know more about the Elites and the Serfs to get a good sense of what’s happening here. Nicely one.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. They certainly wouldn’t. This reminds me of Sherlock Holmes and the mystery of the dancing men,used as a code. Job well done 🙂 wish I had an eidetic memory too.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Neither have I because I made it up. 😉 But there seems to have been a Sherlock Holmes story with dancing men and a code… I gotta look that up. I’m glad you like, thank you, Plaridel.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Ah, you’re so clever, Gabi. Dancers are perfect for delivering a coded attack message because they’re are used to being precise. I like this idea a lot and revealing their code in plain sight is genius!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. As already said brilliantly conceived. I also like the idea of communicating through code in plain sight. I did wonder if the person was actually receiving an intended message or whether he was a bit deranged and reading something that wasn’t really there.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. That’s an interesting interpretation, that never occurred to me, but that would make for an interesting story line (not so interesting but more frightening for the Underground).

      Like

  5. As so many have already mentioned, this is a fascinating interpretation of the image – and it is well written, so it makes for a curious, almost sly satisfaction 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Very good. I liked this a lot. Just recently I was chatting with my clever little grandson who was telling me all about the bees’ dance to inform the other bees where to find nectar. Your story made me think about that again.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hehe, clever grandson. Does he also know that some ant species communicate with smell and chemicals? When they find a food source, they mark the path with a chemical they produce, then the other workers find the place. I’m glad you liked the story, tnank you, Margaret. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, someone else would have to take notes–dangerous–or they need more than one person to verify each other. There are methods to train the memory, I think there even are championships. 🙂 I’m glad you liked the story, Suzanne. Thank you.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

