Into Darkness – Friday Fictioneer Flash Fiction

I pledgeToday is Wednesday and we have a new prompt for the Friday Fictioneers, graciously provided by our Fairy Blog Mother Rochelle Wisoff-Fields.

The task is to write a story: beginning, middle, and end, in 100 words or less. You can find all the Fictioneers’ stories when you click on the Froggy. Please read, comment, and if you like, join the fun. Everyone is welcome.

Into Darkness

I always liked stories about heroes who save the world from evil. The stories are beautiful fantasies, but far too black-and-white for real life, or so I thought.

I was wrong. When everyone lies, the one who tells the people what they want to hear will be believed. Greed, hatred and fear suffocate truth and slay freedom. Darkness creeps in.

The arena glows in the blue light of hope, pretending to be a beacon in the night. The irony stings.

“Hail emperor!” The roars announce the crowning of a despot. I shoulder my backpack and leave. Where are the heroes?

(100 words)


 

arena

 

Featured image © C. E. Ayr. Used with permission for this Friday Fictioneer Challenge only. Any other use of this image requires C. E. Ayr’s permission.

69 thoughts on “Into Darkness – Friday Fictioneer Flash Fiction

  1. “Where are the heroes?” They’re the everyday ordinary Joe who gets tired of fighting and has gone home to have supper. Why do the despots always get away with it? That’s a rhetorical question.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. We just had our national elections last Monday and proclaimed new leaders… This is so timely. I feel like screaming, “Where are the heroes?” too. Reflective piece. I love it! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m still hoping it’s just a phase. I mean, can people really believe that they only now are constantly lied to and they have to fight against ‘the establishment’? I’m very worried right now. There don’t seem to be positive news any more.

      Like

  3. Well, hailing anyone is never goin to end well – especially if it’s an emperor! Has a great feeling, this piece – makes me think of the Hunger Games. Maybe it’s the totalitarian state, the arena, the talk of heroes … Great story

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Lynn. I didn’t even think of the Hunger Games when I wrote it, but I think you have a point. I’ve reread the books a few times, and found that they aren’t as far removed from reality as they seemed to me on first read.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello Suzanne, I tried to comment on your new FF story–loved it–but couldn’t get my comment posted. I was asked for email, and name, and to log in on wordpress (despite being logged in)–and I did all that and then got the message ‘comment can’t be posted’. Maybe it’s just a glitch, but I thought you might want to know.

      Like

  4. This line, “When everyone lies, the one who tells the people what they want to hear will be believed.” Oh, it’s all too real. You really hit the nail on the head with that one. Nicely done, Gah!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Very good. Too many of us love to have our ears tickled, and too few of us have the ability or the willingness to think beyond the simplistic catch phrases and empty promises we are fed. I like the point of view you’ve used here.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Margaret. Maybe being older does that, but right now I see the political world around me as a blur, unreal, a story to unfold. I’m not sure I want to be in that story.

      Like

Leave a Reply

