Perfect Symmetry – Friday Fictioneers Flash Fiction

I pledgeAnother Wednesday, another prompt for the Friday Fictioneers, graciously provided by our Fairy Blog Mother Rochelle Wisoff-Fields.

The task is to write a story: beginning, middle, and end, in 100 words or less. You can find all the Fictioneers’ stories when you click on the Froggy. Please read, comment, and if you like, join the fun. Everyone is welcome.

This time I’ve been experimenting outside my comfort zone again.

Perfect Symmetry

Reflective symmetry lies at the heart of our universe. Matter, energy, order—each has a counterpart. The symmetry must be maintained. This is my art, my calling.

You fear the darkness, I fear the light.
That’s why I hunt you in the dark; your flame will be extinguished, cannot hurt me.
Your fear provides my comfort.

My knife carves deeply and your tears set me aflame.
Your pain incites my pleasure.

At last, your screams fade into silence. My ecstasy provides a sound.

I drink your blood, erupt with energy; your lifeless shell a gift for chaos.
The perfect symmetry.

(100 words)


 

jhc7

 

 

Featured image © J Hardy Carroll. Used with permission for this Friday Fictioneer Challenge only. Any other use of this image requires J Hardy Carroll’s permission.

70 thoughts on “Perfect Symmetry – Friday Fictioneers Flash Fiction

  1. I thought of Jack The Ripper for some reason. He was always a great subject. There’s a good amount of give and take to this piece. One line, then another is answered.
    Good construction and execution (pardon the pun), Gabriele. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, I’m glad you liked. The ones in movies and TV usually have some mad obsession, often religious. I tried to leave that out and still have the killer obsessed/mad. Play big, blame it all on the universe. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I need to rewatch that because I’m missing the connection right now. Thank you. It could have been something I saw there and just don’t remember. My mind just gathers stuff and reshuffles it.

      Like

  2. Greetings, gahlearner!
    A dark and yet poetic piece. It has a great rhythm and flow. On re-read, I think the MC is a vampire? If so, why the knife? If not, yikes, even creepier!
    And now I’m going to read about some rainbows and ponies…
    Happy trails! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. quite eerie. I didn’t get vampire, just maniacal murderer, but on second reading I see the lines ‘I fear the light’ and ‘I drink your blood’ lean toward vampire. Either way – great writing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I didn’t even think vampire when I wrote the part about the light. Only with the blood I thought about how it could be interpreted as a vampire story, LOL. I’m glad you liked the writing. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

