Rainbows and Ponies – Friday Fictioneers Flash Fiction

I pledgeAnother Wednesday, another prompt for the Friday Fictioneers, graciously provided by our Fairy Blog Mother Rochelle Wisoff-Fields.

The task is to write a story: beginning, middle, and end, in 100 words or less. You can find all the Fictioneers’ stories when you click on the Froggy. Please read, comment, and if you like, join the fun. Everyone is welcome.

After last week’s grisly offering, this week you get rainbows and ponies.

Rainbows and Ponies

“Camp Burroughs to Houston, do you copy?”

“This is Houston. Rose, we hear you. Here are the student questions from this week’s draw. Ready?”

“Yes.”

“Padma (12): They say there is water on Mars. Is there an ocean?”

Rose: “There is salt water on the surface during the warmer months, but it is not an ocean.”

“Gary (7): My brother tells me about rainbows and ponies on Mars. Is he lying?”

Rose (laughs): “We have icebows, but no rainbows. And we have PONIES. Our POrtable-Nav-Ident-Exploration-System. Some call it communicator, but I like PONIES better.

“Thank you for your time, Rose. Houston out.”

(100 words and 2 numbers)


Someone has actually asked the question about rainbows on Mars, I’m not that clever. 😉
And: I hope this isn’t too confusing. There are all these fun video live Q/A sessions with astronauts on the ISS and children, this short sequence is based on these, but it would need a lot more than 100 words to properly write something like that for a Mars settlement.

waves

Featured image © Rochelle Wisoff-Fields. Used with permission for this Friday Fictioneer Challenge only. Any other use of this image requires Rochelle’s permission.

59 thoughts on “Rainbows and Ponies – Friday Fictioneers Flash Fiction

    1. I think about everything we can imagine is out there, one way or the other. There’s a horse head nebula, and there are nebula and clouds that shine in all colours… I’m glad you liked, thank you. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I guess it depends on how they manage the high radiation, and the effects of spending a long time in low gravity. I don’t know if you follow news from the ISS, but Scott Kelly, the astronaut who recently spent a year on the ISS, reports about his trouble re-adjusting to Earth’s gravity, and there’s a lot to consider. My own ‘space history’ has this story somewhere around 2040.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. We have them too. They’re caused by ice crystals in the atmosphere and can be haloes around the sun, spots, pillars, bows, different shapes, depending on the weather. I’m glad you liked it, thank you.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. When my daughter years ago did a project on Saturn, her dad, my other half (who is a space physicist) took her to interview a Saturn expert colleague. This sweet dialogue reminded me very much of that – she taped the interview.
    It’s a great mix – Mars, the future and the human side of things. And I love your women characters of course too!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. What a great story, and clever daughter. And how exciting, a space physicist as a husband. I’m very much in awe of physicists.
      I often automatically write guys as astronauts, and then I go back and change it. In ‘my world’ it’s 50:50. I very much hope that more women will be involved in space programs, and that eventually gender won’t even be an issue any longer.

      Like

    1. I totally agree. I slip into astronaut=male mode automatically, but then usually go back and change it. Maybe I’m overdoing it a bit, and let a guy have center stage every once in a while. 😉

      Like

    1. Thank you, Dale. Yes, and vice versa. We have strong restrictions at universities here for studying medicine, and for several years now there have been very many young women and few young men. The girls are ambitious and get good grades–but ony a few go into research later my boss recently told me. They want security, and science, at least where I live, doesn’t give you that. It’s an endless struggle for funds.

      Like

  2. Rainbows and Ponies. It has a nice ring to it! That is a great question to ask about Mars, one I wouldn’t think to ask. Kids are great that way, aren’t they? Great take, Gah. Very original!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sounds like a good scrift for Ben and Holly’s little kingdom.
    Nanny Plum would be happy to ask the questions.
    Loved it!
    🙂
    🙂
    Kids do ask the weirdest questions don’t never would have thought of rainbows on mars.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I only thought about it because after last weeks murder and horror one commenter joked that she’d now go and read about ponies and rainbows. So I thought I’d want to write about ponies and rainbows as a contrast. And then I found that kids had already asked that question about rainbows on Mars. They are amazing in their inquisitiveness. Thank you.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

