Project 10K (P10K) May 2016

SONY-
The Writing Badge for May

SONY-
The Editing Badge for May

You’ll find the rules and a gallery of earlier badges on the Project 10K Page.

Hello writers, how did your month go?

I have a few questions and it would be great if you could answer all of them, or just some. I think question #1 will be an ongoing question for all the months to come but maybe some new questions will come up. I’m not sure about the routine yet, but for now, these questions should do.

1. Did you meet your writing/editing goals?
2. Did you have fun writing?
3. Did the P10K help with motivation?
4. Do you like the badges?
5. Do you want the same flowery design each month, or should I follow my crazy or boring moods?
6. Anything else you want to tell us.

Here are my answers:

  1. 2016-05-31 14_03_18-2016-05-31 13_55_46-Project 10K (P10K) May 2016 – Flights of FancyI did meet my writing goals. This month I focussed more on writing than editing and so I’ll grab the writing badge this time around. I managed to write 10088 words and do a fair amount of editing even though I didn’t have all that much time.
  2. After whining for a while about pov and that my writing sucks (my friends from the PlotBunnies Camp can testify), I managed to actually write chapter 1 of that ‘thing’ I’ve been working on for some time now. And what do you know, I actually like it, for the first time since I started writing that ‘thing’. So yes, I’m having fun again
  3. It did help me immensely. I wouldn’t have made the time for writing regularly without the added push, and the word count meter I put on the sidebar. That, for me, is a great motivator, and I found that I can handle the 10K a month even if I’m very busy. If you are interested, Sonya and Sammi Cox found these links for wordcount meters:
    http://www.writertopia.com/toolbox
    http://www.languageisavirus.com/nanowrimo/word-meter.html#.V011-uQyOiw
    http://www.critiquecircle.com/wordmeterbuilder.asp

I’m looking forward to your stories, and wish you good luck, many good ideas and a lot of fun for your June writing adventures.

 

5 thoughts on “Project 10K (P10K) May 2016

  1. Yay, new badges! Wow, I can’t believe it’s only been one month since Camp NaNo. It feels like THREE at least. Whew.

    To answer your questions (because I am a helpful and obedient Plot Bunny):

    (1) Yes! Sort of. My goal is always to solve all my novel’s problems, and I didn’t do that. I also am not totally sure how I’m going to do my word count for editing (1=1, 1=1/2?). But however I count it, it definitely sums to 10K, with writing 8638 and editing 7810.

    (2) Yes! I always have fun writing. (Knock on wood.)

    (3) Yes! The P10K was a great motivation for reminding me to keep track of my writing and editing, which I have not been good about in the past. Now I have a spreadsheet where I write down which chapter or short story I wrote or edited on which dates (I’m not counting flash fiction for some reason, hm). Yay!

    (4) I love the badges!

    (5) Whatever designs you like are fine with me. I didn’t realize you were going to change the design each month, that is extra bonus cool!

    (6) Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Just realized I miscounted — I actually edited 3 chapters and a short story for a total of 9970 words, but I’m only giving myself 4854 words of “credit” based on which chapters were major versus minor revisions.

      Like

    2. 6. You’re welcome. πŸ™‚
      Thank you for your feedback! I’m glad the challenge turns out to be helpfup for you. I so count the flash fiction, that is another great motivator for me.
      About the designs–nothing is set in stone. Just like a blog, this is open to changes as time passes. We’ll see what we need and want, and then we’ll do it. It’s no problem to add a ‘Project goals met’ badge, for instance.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

