Mummy Brown – Friday Fictioneers Flash Fiction

I pledgeAnother week, another prompt for the Friday Fictioneers, graciously provided by our Fairy Blog Mother Rochelle Wisoff-Fields.

The task is to write a story: beginning, middle, and end, in 100 words or less. You can find all the Fictioneers’ stories when you click on the Froggy. Please read, comment, and if you like, join the fun. Everyone is welcome.

Mummy Brown

I’ll call it ‘Sunset’. And I’ll dedicate it to your memory. It’ll be my masterpiece.

Look at the hues: the fiery orange, the shades of blue gradually changing into indigo. It’s vibrant. It’s modern. It’s what you deserve.

“Your art’s provincial and so, so out,” you said when I asked you for a sponsorship. That hurt. But, you see, I can do abstract too. The top’s done with the blue, separated from the rest with an orange line. The bottom will be shades of mummy brown. A brown you rarely see these days. I’m making the pigment myself. From you.

(100 words) Original Mummy Brown was a pigment made from mummies.


100_7227-1

 

Featured image ©Rich Voza. Used with permission for this Friday Fictioneer Challenge only. Any other use of this image requires Rich Voza’s permission.

 

58 thoughts on “Mummy Brown – Friday Fictioneers Flash Fiction

    1. That’s the beauty of it, isn’t it? There’s also a pigment called Scheele’s green that contains arsenic and makes people sick who have it on their wall papers (or even killed some in the past). Thank you.

      Like

      1. Ah, yes. Sorry, Well, while I was reading, I thought, just as a painter wishes he could paint colors out of critics, newspeople should always write scripts without cliches. Both are impossible to achieve. I hope that makes sense.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Hehe. I don’t think the painter needs to go the whole 40 years (I read that’s the time it took for a real egyptian mummy to be properly dessicated). There are faster ways, and that might be enough for the pigment. Or maybe the painter’s a very crazy and very patient person. There’s the story of the forged ‘Persian Princess’ that took only two years to make from a murder victim.
      Thank you, Audrey. 🙂

      Like

        1. I have no idea, LOL. From what I’ve learned, it was an unreliable pigment at best, because it interacted with other pigments with sometimes unreliable results. That won’t bother our narrator here though. 😉

          Like

    1. I think you might have seen some. Wikipedia says this: “The Pre-Raphaelite artist Edward Burne-Jones was reported to have ceremonially buried his tube of Mummy Brown in his garden when he discovered its true origins.[3]” — I’m glad you liked the twist, thank you Suzanne. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

