Project 10K (P10K) June 2016

P10KW
The Writing Badge for June

P10KE
The Editing Badge for June

P10KP
The I Met My Project Goal Badge

P10KF
The I Had Other Things To Do Badge

Youโ€™ll find the rules and a gallery of earlier badges on the Project 10K Page.

Hello writers, how did your month go? As you see I added two more badges. I almost didn’t make it this month and only an editing marathon this week had me meet my word count. I don’t want to stare at an empty space all month, so I made a Fail badge. And: sometimes we have writing goals that can’t be measured in word count. For that I made the ‘Project goal met’ badge. I think together with my own answers I’ll also post my goals for next month. And here are the questions:

1. Did you meet your writing/editing goals?
2. Did you have fun writing?
3. Did the P10K help with motivation?
4. Anything else you want to tell us.

Here are my answers:

  1. IScreen Shot 2016-07-01 at 00.42.17 did meet my writing goals but only just. I’m trying to get some structure into the ‘thing’ and although I did a fair amount of writing, most time was spent editing. I’ll grab the editing badge for this month.
  2. I’m on and off between having fun and being ready to quit writing all together. I have so many details, but I’m still struggling with the characters and the story. I need more time for structuring that ‘thing’. I’ll also outline some more. I like to write, but without a good and well-planned outline, I just can’t get past the first chapter.
  3. The challenge helped me again, because it kept me going even though I felt very negative about my writing for part of the month (and my Friday Fictioneers friends had to endure the whining).

My goals for July are:

Structuring and outlining in earnest I’ll try to edit chapter 2 and proceed to chapter 3 but if I don’t meet the word count this month, so be it. The main focus is on structure.

I’m looking forward to your stories, and wish you good luck, many good ideas and a lot of fun for your July writing adventures.

 

9 thoughts on “Project 10K (P10K) June 2016

  1. The challenge definitely helped me! As you know, I almost didn’t make it, so that extra nudge helped. I got barely over 10K — 10,027 — through a combination of writing and editing, but more writing than editing this month so I’m taking the P10KW badge.

    I love the wording for the F badge – it’s much nicer than something that implies (correctly sometimes for me) that I just couldn’t get my act together this month, LOL!

    I’m not sure what my writing goals are, which is a problem. I’ll think about it. I have two short stories that need major revisions after being critiqued, and I also have many more chapters to write on my WIP novel. Plus keeping up with my flash fiction for the blog. Plus these pie in the sky ideas of submitting short stories for contests. Ack!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Way to go Joy! Yay!

      I had this black badge saying “Close but no cigar!” — and thought, do I really want to look at that for a whole month? Nope. This is supposed to be a fun challenge. An incentive, but not with shaming. On the other hand, a little reminder of not slacking for too long might help, too.

      I think you need to break down your goals into smaller bits. They are all great overall goals, but–at least for me–wanting to do all at once results in hardly doing anything because I stare at the task list like a frightened rabbit.
      Why not focus on the revisions as the first goal, they’ll lead to the submissions. If you can, write for the blog, for the WIP, but don’t bother about the word count. Contests with deadlines could be the main focus, too, depending on your priorities.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. LOL — If I could figure out my priorities, that would be half the battle, wouldn’t it! I don’t feel in a serious rush for any of these specific things; I just want to make progress. It often works well for me to have several different projects I *could* work on when I sit down for writing time. That way I can grab the one that most inspires me in the moment, and not feel like I have to drag myself to do one I’m not into, just because it’s that day’s assigned task.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Well done, Gabi! Didn’t reach my goal officially, but next month I’ll include flash and short stories as well as the novel, so that should help.
    Will have to pick your bains about how to do the word count on revising a text, as that may be my next challenge.
    Good luck for July ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Lynn. I use the editing word count we discussed in the Nano camp back in April. Essentially, you’ll have to decide for yourself, everyone works differently. I count like this: I have a chapter written with perhaps 2500 words. My plan is to edit the whole chapter. I write down the beginning word count. Then I edit thoroughly, cut, rewrite. When I’m satisfied with the chapter, I look at the word count again and take the higher one. Casual correcting of a typo or a word here or there while rereading before I continue writing I don’t count. You’ll just need to look at the way you usually edit and chose what makes you feel comfortable. I’ve added the project badge for times when we do research, structuring, outlining, trying to find plot holes–why shouldn’t we reward ourselves for that? ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

