Look, a Moocy Monday – Write101

1One of the reasons for starting this blog was my obsession with Massive Open Online Courses (MOOCs). Imagine, courses about anything and everything online and free for everyone! Not just quick tutorials, but professional, usually university-based courses. When I discovered these, I felt as if I’d discovered heaven. To finally get an idea about things that interested me, but for which I never got the opportunity to learn about–here was the chance to do just that.

I took many courses, learned a lot. But eventually I wanted to get back into fiction writing again, and I don’t have enough time to do both seriously. So I cut back on the MOOCs and focussed on writing. But now a course has started (again, it runs regularly) that has interested me for some time, and I thought, now or never. It’s about grammar and style, and as a non-native English writer, I really need it…

The course is Write101 from the University of Queensland. If you’re interested, check it out. It is available as a verified course (for a fee), and also as a free course without certificate. I will probably post the assignments for this course here. These are peer-reviewed and don’t need to go on a blog, but I would appreciate your feedback, too.

I could just audit, but I want to go through the assignments, that forces me to keep at it. As does posting about it here.

 

15 thoughts on “Look, a Moocy Monday – Write101

  1. I have never heard of these, Gabi – thanks for bringing them to my attention.
    It’s not just non English speakers who need help with their grammar, trust me. When I was at school teaching had swung away from drumming grammar and punctuation into children and more towards creativity, leaving a generation of kids (myself included) not knowing when to use colons and semi colons, how to construct sentences properly. It’s not that they weren’t taught at all, just that there was little emphasis on them. I still have problems with it now.
    Hope the course goes well and look forward to hearing more πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I did a free MOOC on multimedia storytelling last fall and really liked it. It wasn’t exactly what I was looking for, but the storytelling part was really interesting. I know what you mean about time, though: to really get the most out of it, I had to spend a lot of time. Gee, almost like taking a real class or something, ha ha!

    For a while I was checking out all the new MOOCs I heard of, but didn’t see any that were quite what I wanted. Now I simply don’t have the time to add anything to my plate (or even for the things that are on my plate!). This one looks useful, but not so much for me. Grammar is something that always came easily to me, so I’m lucky that I have that skill going for me when attacking my many *other* writing problems. When they have a MOOC about “why your characters are so boring” or “how to fix a runaway plot,” sign me up!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Your characters are not boring. Repeat after me. Your characters are not boring… πŸ˜‰
      You’re lucky about the grammar. I used to be very good with German grammar and punctuation, but ever since I put an effort in learning English in-depth, I forgot a lot of the German rules, not helped by a spelling reform several years ago which I disliked and didn’t mind at the time. Now I have to look everything up. Annoying.
      MOOCs, done properly, are like real classes, only with more students. πŸ˜‰ Sometimes they even behave like teenagers in puberty (although many are as old, or older than I am).
      I know what you mean about never finding the right class. There are some, but they aren’t free, and since I don’t really need them for a career, I don’t pay. But just auditing without doing assignments can be very interesting and educational. And the strangest classes can get you the most amazing insights.
      Repeat after me: your characters are not boring.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! For most classes I’d just been auditing. But I did a class about academic writing a while ago, and found it very helpful to work with a group of other students. We would critisize and help with our assignments, and discuss the course. That was the best MOOC experience, it was also motivating.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you, that’s very kind of you to say. I need a bit more confidence, and my punctuation is erratic at best. Without dictionary, google, and a thesaurus, I’d be hopeless. πŸ˜€

    Like

  4. I hope you enjoy the class, but I concur your English is very good – limited give aways that upu are not a native speaker. As a former English-as-a-Second-Language teacher I will tell you that most non-native speakers have better grammar than native speakers including myself.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! That’s very kind. You should hear me speak though. LOL: Horrible accent… and when I don’ t have a dictionary or thesaurus at my fingertips, there’s a lot of ah and uhm, and then I try to describe what I mean because the right word is hidden somewhere in that brain and won’t come out.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

