MOOCy Monday: My Write101 online course

1A few weeks ago I wrote about an online course, Write101 on EdX, from the University of Queensland. It focuses on grammar and style. I announced that I’d audit it actively (this means no pay, but participating in the assignments), but I’ve since changed my mind.

I’ll continue auditing the course, but I’m not going to submit the assignments. This is not an easy course. There are grammar MOOCs out there where you can simply rush through with a minimum of work, and the quizzes are simple enough. Not so this one. The first assignments would have been: what did I learn about grammar in this course during the first few weeks? I’d have to write a 300 word essay, submit it, and peer-review the essays of other contributors. This is not a very difficult assignment. I could have done it. But I have difficulties with the quizzes and the content already. Add to that the stress of submitting to a deadline and reviewing to a deadline–I don’t think I need that stress right now. The course is still useful to me, because it gives me an idea on what to focus, and where to study harder. So, to get to the point, what have I learned?

gerund-1025453_640
CC0 by moucheiro on Pixabay

I don’t now anything about grammar, that’s my first insight. I may be able to use the language correctly most of the time, but that is more due to my ‘language-feel’ and less to my knowledge of grammar. The second insight is that learning this properly can be fun. The third is: I need more time.

The lecture videos that go along with the course are fast-paced. Things are explained briefly and not with very many examples. The course material tells about helpful books, links to helpful websites–but for me studying all this takes a lot more than the announced four hours work per week to really understand what I’m reading. And call me silly, but I don’t want to fail the quizzes. That goes against my honour as a writer-impersonator. 😉 I need more time. Call me stupid, but I don’t get the complicated parts from looking at simple examples. I got some books, and book recommendations, however. They have great examples, one is for teachers with exercises and a key. I plan to do these exercises because there will be explanations in the end. Just doing  exercises doesn’t help me much if no one tells me why my answer is wrong.

take-532097_640
CC0 by ThePixelman on Pixabay

And so I’ll prod along, but less ambitious than in the beginning. But I like the course, it is interesting. Some of the things discussed there are worth thinking about in-depth.

Did you know, for example, that grammar and glamour are related words, that the word glamour is based on the word gramarye and that this is said to be an alteration of the word grammar? All of them are linked to magic, which results in the magic of grammar, the magic of using language with skill and knowledge. Isn’t that what a sometimes fantasy writer would want to know? Magic is power over things or people. Words can be as powerful as magic when they are used by a skilful word-caster. They can delight, ensnare, deceive, incite.  They can ignite revolutions, call for war, condemn to death, pardon, forgive, heal, and give comfort. They can separate families and forge life-long friendships.

Sticks and stones will break your bones but words will never hurt you…” is just not true. I’m sure that it is meant as comfort, that words have no physical effect and if you shrug them off–water on a duck’s back–they are just hot air blown by idiots. But we know better now, don’t we? In the past, psychological damage through bullying may not have been acknowledged, but now we know the effects bullying has on people. Likewise, we are aware–or should be–of the power of words in politics. People seem to act differently when they are in a crowd. And when someone knows what the crowd wants to hear and promises these things–realistic or not–countries can be changed, people killed, wars started. There are plenty of examples in less recent and very recent history for this.

Other historical figures have shown us that the opposite can also be true. Words, chosen properly and spoken with passion, can calm, can create peace, can heal. And words chosen by a skilful writer can create new worlds, exciting stories, adventure, romance, excitement–just in our minds. This kind of magic is worth studying, I think. Casting a spell with words but minding the spelling while we do it: that’s the way to go.

animal-254848_640
CC0 by cocoparisienne on Pixabay

Apart from that, I’m struggling with parts of speech, phrases and clauses, adverbs, participles and gerunds, verb tenses, phrasal verbs, verbal phrases, and verb phrases. Who knew that verbs can be so difficult?

In the future I’ll post some more about the course. For now I thank you very much for your patience if you made it to the end, and reward you with two videos from the first week which I liked very much.

 

Stephen Fry: Kinetic Typography

“Weird Al” Yankovic: Word Crimes

 

 

15 thoughts on “MOOCy Monday: My Write101 online course

  1. It sounds like a very advanced course; I consider myself pretty good at English grammar (having the advantage over you that it’s my native tongue), but I couldn’t identify all those different types of verbs and phrases. Who remembers those things? Well, okay, grammar experts. But not me.

    You’re right — you need to find a course that will go at the pace that works for you. Don’t try squeezing yourself into something that’s not a good fit, or you’ll just get frustrated and less likely to try and enjoy the next one. I’m glad you’re finding parts that interest you, and will keep on with the course. I hope it keeps being fun and educational!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Joy. I can’t say that I know the names of everything in my native tongue–but it’s easier to use, kind of burnt in. Being able to identify things while I write, slowly but steadily, is great fun though. Look, I used a gerund! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

          1. The Being in Being able to… Like Being John Malkovich, there the Being is a gerund. Or Saving Private Ryan, Saving is a gerund. Being able to, I don’t think so, I think that’s participle, but I need to study and practice a lot more. Thing is, I want to know this, stuff like that is fun. Call me Nerd. 😉

            Like

  2. When I was 14, my begetters decided it was time for me to go to a New England prep school. I’m from Wilmot, Arkansas population 622. My English teacher was called Gordon Jones and he’d written our grammar textbook. It was called I Wouldn’t Know a Gerund if it Bit Me in the Ankle. Clearly I had landed in the deepest circle of hell reserved only for the most recalcitrant of humans. That was 1993. Today, I wouldn’t know a gerund if it mugged me in a parking lot, gagged me and threw me in the trunk. Even though I might be an ignoramous, I really like what you said about words. Yours are fresh- like a grapefruit sorbet amuse-bouche- exciting the palate.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. This inspired me to look up what a gerund is. Turns out it’s one of many things that I understand how to use but didn’t know the name of. If I could claim I’d remember it for more than an hour, I’d say I learned something today!

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Thank you! I used to think everything ending on ing was a gerund. Now I’m smarter, but I still didn’t get the hang of it. 😀 Your teacher actually sounds like an interesting guy, at least from the title of the book.
      I don’t think you really need to remember the terms when you can use the language correctly. If you’re bold enough to try to write fiction in your second language, however, a bit of a grammar boost can’t hurt, if only to give more confidence.

      Liked by 2 people

    3. This is too funny – Gordon Jones is my dad. I am an English teacher now and googled his book to see if it still existed and came across your comment! I’ll show this to him – it’ll make him laugh 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Sounds super tricky, Gabi. I don’t blame you for going the way you have with it and it sounds as if you’ll still learn tons. Good luck with it and thanks for the grammar / glamour link – love that! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  4. When you need to learn grammar, how you should learn it (eg in or out of context) is a huge debate here in the UK. On the whim of one (now departed) education secretary 8,9 and ten-year-olds and their teachers are having to learn heaps of complicated grammar. It’s not even good old-fashioned grammar – they seem to have changed a lot of the terms. Not surprisingly this has had the opposite to the intended effect and has turned children/teachers right off grammar.
    Grammar in the context of reading, writing, talking is fun! And it’s good to know those rules, to feel powerful if only to break them all.
    Now I’m off to look up what a gerund is, plus I found an old video of Being John M whilst tidying a dark corner the sitting room and I haven’t seen it for years…

    Liked by 1 person

  5. There you have your gerund. LOL, I’m still struggling with it. But since I’ve decided to take my time with the course, I’m more relaxed. It is fun to know these things. The course has mentioned that grammar struggle in some of the videos. And about the terms… the course uses some, the textbooks use others, none exactly the same. Grammar apps don’t help much either (except for the one by the Grammar Girl) because they contain mistakes even I can see… Oh my!

    Like

Leave a Reply

