Mission Accomplished – Friday Fictioneers Flash Fiction

 

boatpilxr_-antiquedMission Accomplished

Flying an airship wasn’t child’s play.

As first navigator Greta had to set course, make corrections, and keep the camouflaged ship close to tree and mountain cover. That much was easy.

Landing was the difficult part. Gusts of wind would affect their ability to steer the craft with precision, and extreme weather made safe landing nearly impossible. The tiny propeller didn’t give her much control.

This time around though, all went well. After some struggling with strong up-currents, Greta helped the captain swing a perfect landing. The rescued prisoners on board were unharmed, the mission accomplished. Greta loved her job.

(100 words) More information about hot air airships.

I pledgeEvery Wednesday we get a new picture prompt for the Friday Fictioneers, a challenge graciously hosted by our Fairy Blog Mother Rochelle Wisoff-Fields. We’re still in rerun modus because Rochelle is busy with her soon-to-be-published new book.

The task of the challenge is to write a story: beginning, middle, and end, in 100 words or less. You can find all the Fictioneers’ stories when you click on the Froggy. Please read, comment, and if you like, join the fun. Everyone is welcome.

 


Image prompt ©Georgia Koch. Used with permission for this Friday Fictioneers Challenge only. Any other use of this image requires Georgia Koch’s permission.

61 thoughts on “Mission Accomplished – Friday Fictioneers Flash Fiction

    1. I had to look up Grace Darling, interesting story. About the Airlander, yes, I’ve read about it–after I wrote the story on Tuesday night, LOL. They’d need someone like Greta indeed.

      Like

    1. Oh, that’s great. I’ve seen you post about your daughter, but didn’t remember the name. My Greta is part of something else, and I’m glad her character came through. I wanted this to be a concept and character study (mostly because I had no better idea 😉 ). Thank you, Russel.

      Liked by 1 person

            1. That would stall me too. You have to focus on getting better. Do you still have to go to work with the broken arm?
              I’m having these ‘online-free-lonely-evenings’ pockets during the week. When I keep up discipline to not binge-watch my favourite films or series, I actually get some writing-related stuff done. But I need peace of mind for that. With stress or worry I can’t do anything.

              Liked by 1 person

                  1. I did take a sick day the day it happened, and then I had the weekend to rest and recover. It’s really a very minor fracture, more annoying than anything else. I could take more sick days if I wanted, but I doubt I’d heal any faster at my computer at home than at my computer at work. 🙂 Anyway, this is *my* research project that’s at the crucial stage right now, and I’m the one who set up all these job interviews with candidates. But trust me, when I’m really sick, I stay home!

                    Liked by 1 person

    1. With paintand/or fabric I suppose. Depending on what you’d want it to camouflage from. Greta stays close to trees and mountains, the ship would be a blend of muted greens, browns and earthy greys. On a cloudy day that could work higher in the sky, too. Thank you Liz.

      Like

    1. Yes, I read it on the news (I wrote the story the night before, if I’d known earlier, I would have done something else). They messed up the landing big time, which, in a way, confirms my story. Thank you Sandra.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. 🙂 Me too. But I’m too clumsy, I’d mess up the landings. I love flying, though, and airships fascinate me. They’d be a much cleaner way for transport of cargo and passengers, especially the pressurized hot air type. Thanks Tracey.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I try to be gender neutral with the tasks I assign to my characters, but in these short pieces I ofen chose a woman for traditional male jobs… I should write about men in traditional women’s jobs to even it out. I’m glad you liked, thank you.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad you like it, Lynn, Thank you. I am convinced that we can have a cleaner future with many creature comforts if we put our hearts to it. There’s no need to go into anarchy or back to the stone ages when a grid breaks down or we run out of oil.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m sure you’re right, Gabi. We just need people, governments and big corporations to work together to make it happen. Perhaps we’ll be forced to in the end, but hopefully it will happen 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

