The Servant – Friday Fictioneers Flash Fiction

Every Wednesday we get a new picture prompt for the Friday Fictioneers, a writing challenge graciously hosted by our Fairy Blog Mother Rochelle Wisoff-Fields.

crook2
Image © Sandra Crook. Used with permission for this Friday Fictioneers Challenge only. Any other use of this image requires Sandra Crook’s permission.

The Servant

For a moment I thought I saw grandma’s old sewing machine. Then I realized it was ‘him.’ My eyes aren’t what they used to be.

“Let’s wash your hair today, shall we?” he said.

I nodded. His U-shaped body lifted me up, and his multi-tool arm helped me lean my head back comfortably for the procedure.

“Shall I read to you later?” he asked as he blew my hair dry.

“Yes.”

I’ve no idea how old folks managed in the old days. How humiliating to have your arse wiped by strangers. He leaves my dignity intact. He can cook, too.

(100 words)

I pledge
The task of the challenge is to write a story: beginning, middle, and end, in 100 words or less. You can find all the Fictioneers’ stories when you click on the Froggy. Please read, comment, and if you like, join the fun. Everyone is welcome.

75 thoughts on “The Servant – Friday Fictioneers Flash Fiction

    1. Thank you! To stick to 100 words IS difficult. But it is also a great tool for practising editing. You really get used to cutting down to the bare essentials. I find this helps with writing other things, too. Just give it a try. 🙂

      Liked by 3 people

  1. Oo, love the futuristic take on the old-fashioned prompt! And it’s nice to see a little sci-fi where the advancements are positive, for a change. Well, at least in chapter one — who knows what these “servants” will do later in the book! (Cue ominous music.)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. I hope they won’t completely replace people as care-givers, but such robots could be great helpers (how I wish I had a household robot, LOL). Maybe the human caregivers can spend more time with their patients instead of wash-brush-dress-feed-next.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Knowing my luck with machines, I’d worry about having my arse wiped with a cheese grater! (Perhaps a separate servant for the cooking.) Now the reading I’d enjoy.
    A very original story – and gets you thinking.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I think a robot doesn’t necessarily have to look human, function would somewhat dictate form. Science Fiction is usually the first step when I try to see something in a picture. Second is fantasy, and if that doesn’t work I have to wait for inspiration. 😀

      Like

  3. Somehow, I got kind of a chuckle out of this — mostly, of course, from the comments section! But, the tale is good and it works wonderfully. You did a nice take on the prompt, Gabriele.

    Five out of five blow drys. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Great idea. If you could invent it you’d be made for life. I’d love one just for the chores at the moment but knowing come the time it would be very useful. On a serious note, the dignity side is important. My mother is in hospital at the moment and I know her main concern is having to ask the nurses to do those types of things.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m sure people are working on it already. Robotics science is moving fast. I want a household robot too. I hope your mother gets well soon. My mother and my FIL were in nursing homes after severe strokes. We’ve seen a lot of the good things and bad. When people are in good hands, all is well. But if you don’t have anyone who looks out for you, you’re screwed. Checking constantly is important.

      Like

  5. Quite the imagination on this one … !!!
    I live in Florida. There are a great many elderly people. A 90 year old friend just mentioned adult diapers – aka: fancy pants – to me. I was shocked and taken aback. Sssooo … I’m a bit weirded out about this machine thingy. A fun thought in some ways but the thought of the eventuality not so much fun.
    Isadora 😎

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

