Round Round – Friday Fictioneers Flash Fiction

Every Wednesday we get a new picture prompt for the Friday Fictioneers, a writing challenge graciously hosted by our Fairy Blog Mother Rochelle Wisoff-Fields.

shaktikiff2
Image © Shaktiki Sharma. Used with permission for this Friday Fictioneers Challenge only. Any other use of this image requires Shaktiki Sharma’s permission.

Round Round

I’ve been put through the mill so many times I‘ve lost count. That’s why I signed the contract. Now I’m on the dancefloor watching the crowd. Girls who look like copies of the same mold gyrate their hips against clients with empty eyes. This is promising rich booty.

“Hey, wanna grind?”

“Sure.”

The client grabs my hips and I feel electric jolts soar through me. I know what that means and turn around.

“Cy-bo-dyne?”

“Yup.”

“And the others?”

“ciBorg mostly.”

I sigh. Finding human clients gets harder and harder. Life as a robo-contractor isn’t as profitable as I thought. Damn.

(100 words) (The robotic firms’ names are my inventions. I hope I didn’t invent an existing one by accident.)

I pledge
The task of the challenge is to write a story: beginning, middle, and end, in 100 words or less. You can find all the Fictioneers’ stories when you click on the Froggy. Please read, comment, and if you like, join the fun. Everyone is welcome.

63 thoughts on “Round Round – Friday Fictioneers Flash Fiction

    1. Thank you Joy. You’re always so good for my morale. My super-SciFi story was just mangled, dismissed, and turned upside down by me. Maybe I should just enjoy the process and give up hope of ever finishing that thing. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I love that too, and sometimes am very surprised what can be read into it. But that’s part of the process, isn’t it. There’s always two to a story. Thank you Sandra, and yes, SF is my genre. And fantasy.

      Like

  1. Robot stories always grab me. You’ve played with point of view here, I think, so that I can’t be sure who’s a robot and who’s human. And I guess that’s the point. What’s human anyway? I’ve read it a few times with a different feeling each time. Well told.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s exactly the point, once we get there, we can’t be sure. The whole theme fascinates me, always did. When is a person a person, from Heinlein’s computers to Data. I’m glad you like it, thank you Margatet.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m not up-to-date, but I think scientists are still undecided whether computers with their own consciousness are even possible. But since no one knows how consciousness in animals and people works (finding out what pet owners knew all along, that there are only gradual differences), I doubt the validity of these statements. We’ll have to wait and see I guess. Thank you Suzanne. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

