Project 10K (P10K) September 2016

The Writing Badge for September
The Writing Badge for September

The Editing Badge for September
The Editing Badge for September

The I Met My Project Goal Badge
The I Met My Project Goal Badge

The I Had Other Things To Do Badge
The I Had Other Things To Do Badge

You’ll find the rules and a gallery of earlier badges on the Project 10K Page.

It’s time for reporting in again. How did your writing go in September?

1. Did you meet your writing/editing goals?
2. Did you have fun writing?
3. Did the P10K help with motivation?
4. Anything else you want to tell us?

Here are my answers:

  1. 2016-09-01 10_11_34-Project 10K – Flights of FancyNo! I failed. Big F for me. I got insanely busy at work and didn’t have much energy to write. I plodded along with the Friday Fictioneers and wrote a few stories for Sammi’s Month of Mini Challenges, but that was it. Add to that my inability to get that ‘Thing’ into shape, and a new idea that has shown up… I’ll grab the F badge this month.
  2.  I had great fun with Sammi’s challenge. She made me write poems. Yikes, I’m about the most unpoetical person you can think of… so yes, despite not meeting my goal, I had fun with writing.
  3. This month the looming failure made me feel guilty, but then I decided to just go with the F. I don’t feel too bad about it.
  4. I have a question for my writer friends: I’ve been working on a SF story for over a year now. I wrote many scenes, know my characters, know my world… but it just doesn’t want to shape into something I could let anyone read yet. Now I have a new idea for a fantasy story, a rather simple plot compared to the other one, and one I’d certainly have fun writing. Should I let the SF story simmer and participate in the NaNoWriMo to see if the other idea can go anywhere, or should I be disciplined and stick to the SF story until I find the story in the idea? How do you handle multiple ideas?

My goals for October are:

I don’t really know because work will continue to be very busy. Add to that a flood of fruit and veggies from the garden that want to be processed and there doesn’t remain much time. I want to finish, belatedly, Sammi’s challenge. And I want to keep going with the Friday Fictioneers. I doubt that I can write 10K next month, but I want to keep going with structuring and plotting. So I aim for the P again.

I’m looking forward to your answers and your stories about your writing, and wish you good luck, many good ideas and a lot of fun for October. Please leave your answers in a comment here, or a link to your blog if you’d rather write about it there.

If you see this for the first time and this challenge interests you: Everyone is welcome, hop right in.

10 thoughts on “Project 10K (P10K) September 2016

    1. Right here. Grab your project badge for September and report back in on the first of November to tell us how your writing, or editing went. The 10 K are for busy writers who want to focus on writing, it cuts down to less than 500 words a day, and can be done when moderately busy. But that’s not something we can do every month, there need to be edits, plans etc. Therefore we have the other badges, just a little incentive. If you click on my word count bar, it should get you to a site where you can get the code, if you like that kind of thing. But it is all very informal, only as much pressure as you want to put on yourself.
      Welcome! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. 1. I am getting a big old F myself this month, sad to say. I was very busy at work, plus I lost one long weekend for a family trip and another long weekend for a writers conference. Funny, I just counted it up and I also got 24% this month — so we failed at exactly the same rate, ha ha!

    2. I got hardly any writing done on my novel this month, but I did participate in many flash fiction challenges, so I had fun with that. I really enjoyed Sammi Cox’s Month of Mini Writing Challenges, although there was no way I could do all 30. In total, I wrote and posted 17 flash fiction stories or poems this month, so I’m pretty happy about that.

    3. The P10K always motivates me, but I just didn’t have the bandwidth this month.

    4. I was struggling with a similar question about what to do for NaNo. My novel needs a TON of revising, but that’s not what NaNo is for. So in theory I could start the next novel I have in mind — and this time start fresh, knowing what I now know about plot structure and character arcs and whatnot, won’t it be easier and go better? I ended up deciding not to start something new until I finish this one, or at least get a really decent full first draft. So I’m skipping NaNo this year, although I hope to be in a better place in time for Camp NaNo in April.

    Your situation isn’t quite the same though, because you’ve been frustrated with this story for so long and aren’t sure where to go next with it. So maybe taking a break and trying something new would help you get a different perspective, with the idea of maybe coming back some time later to revisit these characters and ideas. I’d say, if you feel excited about this fantasy novel idea, maybe your heart is telling you what it wants to write right now.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I guess the 24% mirror Sammi’s challenge. The short prompts just don’t give you many words, LOL. I admire your many challenges, I can barely do the FF, and play a bit with Sammi’s challenge.
      I’m still not sure about the Nano, but this other story is running through my head and wants to be told, one way or the other. Maybe I should try to ‘pants’ it. I come up with world, background, conflict, characters… but what’s missing is the main story. I’m not sure I have this one, we’ll see. Or maybe I have too many stories to get them sorted out. But enough of that, I write for fun, and I’m having fun.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. The more I learn about what’s wrong with my current novel, the more convinced I am that I should plot my next novel *more*, not *less*. But then, I’m not much of a pantser to begin with. I agree that as long as you’re having fun, that’s the important part.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. I’ve been outlining, and outlining, and sturcturing–trying to apply some of what I’ve learned recently–I think I’ve overoutlined myself because each time I have a new idea, and I have them constantly, I want to go back, throw everything upside down and start from scrap. Only, it’s always so much… so maybe just having a rough outline and see where the story takes me will be good for the writing process. I’m still undecided…

          Liked by 1 person

  2. I have added the word count to my website. Do we have to get a new code every time you make a post too update the count? I’m keeping track of the words each time I post, so I know how I’m going.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

