What Makes A Kingdom Great? – Friday Fictioneers Flash Fiction

Every Wednesday we get a new picture prompt for the Friday Fictioneers, a writing challenge graciously hosted by our Fairy Blog Mother Rochelle Wisoff-Fields.
The task of the challenge is to write a story: beginning, middle, and end, in 100 words or less. You can find all the Fictioneers’ stories when you click on the Froggy. Please read, comment, and if you like, join the fun. Everyone is welcome.


What Makes A Kingdom Great?

Claire Fuller
Image ©Claire Fuller. Used with permission for this Friday Fictioneers Challenge only. Any other use of this image requires Claire Fuller’s permission.
Once upon a time a childless king felt death approaching. He promised that whoever would fill his typecase with the kingdom’s most defining mementoes would become his heir.

First came a merchant and filled the case with gold. “We’re traders, Sire, rich and successful.”The king sighed.

Second came a soldier and filled the case with weapons. “We’re warriors, Sire, fearless and strong.”

The king wept.

Third came a farmer and filled the case with seashells and fishing gear, with  wood, and grain. “Our people work hard, Sire, and nature provides.”

“You’re it!” The king laughed and closed his eyes.

(100 words)


I pledgeI know this story isn’t all that original, but I’m a bit out of steam, writing-wise. I will spare you the whine (unless you have some really good cheese), but that’s just where I am at the moment. I’m a bit stressed-out by work, too. So, if I suddenly disappear for a few weeks, that’s why. It could also happen that I give in to insanity and announce my participation in the NaNoWriMo to get my writing mojo back. We’ll see.

46 thoughts on “What Makes A Kingdom Great? – Friday Fictioneers Flash Fiction

  1. Thank you Lizy. It’s the time of year, I think. I have projects that simmer and simmer and at the end of the year people find that they would like to have these things finished–and I do most of the work. It’ll pass.

    Like

  2. I loved this story… truly a fairy tale because we know that would never happen!
    I haven’t declared anything but, now that my work at the golf club is over on October 28th, I am contemplating participating in NaNo for realz this time…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

