Project 10K (P10K) October 2016

The Writing Badge for October
The Writing Badge for October

The Editing Badge for October
The Editing Badge for October

The I Met My Project Goal Badge
The I Met My Project Goal Badge

The I Had Other Things To Do Badge
The I Had Other Things To Do Badge

You’ll find the rules and a gallery of earlier badges on the Project 10K Page.

October

1. Did you meet your writing/editing goals?
2. Did you have fun writing?
3. Did the P10K help with motivation?
4. Anything else you want to tell us?

Here are my answers:

  1. 2016-09-01 10_11_34-Project 10K – Flights of FancyNo! I failed. Big F for me. Again. I was thoroughly demotivated and still very busy at work. I’ve been whining all over the place so I’ll spare you the repeat. I’ll grab the F badge this month. Again.
  2. No. I couldn’t write. I didn’t plot. I did have fun writing the Friday Fictioneers flash fiction stories, but nothing else was done and I felt guilty like whoa.
  3. No, not this time.

My goals for November are:

Cough. Cough.

nanowrimo_2016_webbanner_participant

Yes I know, I’m insane. But I’m slowly getting the fun back. I’ll be writing something different from what I’ve worked on last year and got stuck with often. And I don’t have much of an outline, just a rough structure. I’ll be pantsing, and for me that’s a first.

Writing buddies, where are you?

So, enough about me, how was your month? Please tell us in the comments, or link to your blog if you write about it there.

I wish you good luck, many good ideas and a lot of fun for November.

If you see this for the first time and this challenge interests you: Everyone is welcome, hop right in.

7 thoughts on “Project 10K (P10K) October 2016

  1. Dear Gabriele,

    I’m not familiar with P10K. I wish you the best in NaNoWriMo.:D I’ve thought about it a time or two but I don’t think it’s for me. For me, the past month has been filled with editing my third book. The proof has many typos and tweaks (my choice) to be done.

    Godspeed and shalom,

    Rochelle

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Rochelle. I’m doing the Nano mostly to get that ‘writing magic’ back, the zone, the situation where you write, and write, and the next day you wonder who wrote it. That’s what I love about writing, the ‘creative subconscious’–and I haven’t had it for a long while. Nano tickles my ambition, I want to ‘win’ it, and that mean that no excuse not to write heavily several times a week will be good enough. I beed to challenge myself otherwise the ‘I’m tired, let’s binge watch a series instead’ wins too often. This is also the reason for the P10K. It means Project 10K and refers to words to write or edit in a month. This is a number I find I can manage with my busy life. Everyone who is interested can participate, every new month I hand out badges for the past month. There’s a link, if you are interested, where things are explained in more detail. It’s all very informal.

      Like

  2. My answers: Nope, I did not get 10K last month. But I got closer than the previous month: 7,878 words. And yes, P10K did help push me to get that many instead of far fewer. I didn’t have as much fun writing this month because I didn’t have as much time to write. But I did write nine flash fiction stories and posted them (so I met my two-per-week goal) and made some progress with two chapters of my novel, so it’s not a total loss. I’m definitely going to push for 10K this month, and maybe more – although not 50K, sad to say.

    Good luck with NaNo! I hope it helps you get your mojo back!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. This sounds great, Joy. Looks like you have a steady routine and keep to it. You definitely earn a P badge.
      The fun is coming back. I’m having the week off and just decided to take some time off all the other work that wants to be done, and write. Strangely, I watch my word count and slog along, and the closer I get to my 1700 words the easier it gets. And then I could just continue, but chores wait and I can’t spend more time. But I’m confident to get it done. Maybe it’ll even be something resembling a story.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. A week off to write sounds like just what the writing doctor ordered! I’m so glad to hear the fun is coming back, hooray! And that happens to me too, that the more I write, the easier it feels to write.

        Good luck making something that resembles a story! Hey, that’s a great description of a first draft, isn’t it? Maybe even “vaguely resembles”! 😀

        Like

Leave a Reply

