Darkness – Friday Fictioneers Flash Fiction

Every Wednesday we get a new picture prompt for the Friday Fictioneers, a writing challenge graciously hosted by our Fairy Blog Mother Rochelle Wisoff-Fields.
The task of the challenge is to write a story: beginning, middle, and end, in 100 words or less. You can find all the Fictioneers’ stories when you click on the Froggy. Please read, comment, and if you like, join the fun. Everyone is welcome.


Darkness

Sandra Crook
Image ©Sandra Crook. Used with permission for this Friday Fictioneers Challenge only. Any other use of this image requires Sandra Crook’s permission.
The day is as grey as a November day can be. The fog is so thick that she can hardly see the buildings across the street and she gets the impression that the sun didn’t rise at all this morning. That’s why she wears her red dress today, the one with the yellow polka dots. She glows in the fog. She stands out.

The last thing she hears is ugly laughter and, “She’s had it coming, the bitch.”

When her body is found, bystanders are heard saying, “Why did she have to dress that way. She brought it on herself.”

(100 words)


I pledge

Sorry Sandra (great picture btw.) — but my ability to see the glass half full is temporarily blocked.

57 thoughts on “Darkness – Friday Fictioneers Flash Fiction

  1. Powerful story and very appropriate. I was expecting something dark from you yesterday, and you didn’t disappoint. I can’t even see it as half empty… Mostly empty, is what I feel. Filled with poison. Crushed underfoot…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I was thinking about you, all of you. And I’m also crushed. Many of us feel it strongly too, here. My first impulse was to stop blogging, to stop writing… then I realized that this is the only thing I know how to do, to write, in fiction, about inclusion, democracy, tolerance, now more than ever. Mail me if you want to talk…

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you, I appreciate that. I went through the same roller coaster as many over here. But “luckily” I had a crazy busy day at work — we were hosting a conference, and I had to give a presentation and do lots of networking. So that kept my mind on other things long enough to calm down a bit, rather than staying at home fuming, and reading and posting horrible things online all day.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Despite the gloom, the image you build in the first paragraph is lovely – ‘She glows in the fog.’ Beautiful. But the ending is so shocking. Tragic, and such a familiar cry, to blame the victim, as other commenters have said.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

