The Keys To The Kingdom – Friday Fictioneers Flash Fiction

Every Wednesday we get a new picture prompt for the Friday Fictioneers, a writing challenge graciously hosted by our Fairy Blog Mother Rochelle Wisoff-Fields.
The task of the challenge is to write a story: beginning, middle, and end, in 100 words or less. You can find all the Fictioneers’ stories when you click on the Froggy. Please read, comment, and if you like, join the fun. Everyone is welcome.


The Keys To The Kingdom

C.E. Ayr
Image ©C.E. Ayr. Used with permission for this Friday Fictioneers Challenge only. Any other use of this image requires C. E. Ayr’s permission.
When I’m gone, Trevor will inherit the realm. I teach him what I know but I’m worried. He is watching that door again.

“Nana, it’s been locked for seventy years. Let’s open it already.”

“I promised not to. By my honour.”

“Honour?” The contempt in his voice speaks volumes. Maybe it’s time for a more modern approach.

“When you’re king, go and open every door,” I say. “But first consider what kind of ruler you want to be. Question everything behind these doors. If it endangers your people, fight it.”

The flicker of understanding in his eyes gives me hope.

(100 words)


I pledge

I blame NaNoWriMo for not having been around much. One week to go…

59 thoughts on “The Keys To The Kingdom – Friday Fictioneers Flash Fiction

    1. Thank you Lynn. Perhaps he learns a thing or two. Nano wasn’t going well at all, but I’ve been pushing it these last days and now I’m almost on track. If all goes well, I’ll make it. I’ll whine about it over on the plot bunnies. 😉

      Liked by 3 people

  1. Hopefully it will be several more years before he has the opportunity to open the door, by which time he’ll truly understand why it remains locked. Great story, Gabi. 🙂 Good luck with your final week of NaNo!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. As far as the debate about the wisdom of locking things away, I’d say it depends entirely on what the thing is, and how dangerous. But that flicker of understanding in the boy’s eyes gives me hope that he’ll make the right decision, when it’s his turn to take the reins.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. I think locking away never works. The story of Pandora’s box is true for everything. Once it’s done/opened/discovered/thought it can never be unthought again, and IMO it shouldnt. If we (wilfully) forget about atrocities, we are in danger of repeating them. If we remember, we can regulate, make laws about it, control the impact and watch how and where it spreads, and why. Hopefully.

      Like

      1. If what you mean is knowledge, ideas, history, then yes, I agree that locking it away won’t work. We have to remember and face those things, and hopefully keep learning from them. I was thinking of some horrific weapon being better off locked up so that it wouldn’t be used, or some terrible monster who would destroy the world if freed.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Oh absolutely, I think we should send all nuclear bombs into the sun. But the knowledge how to build them must be maintained, and the knowledge what a nuclear war means (I have the impression that some people never knew, or forgot about that). Otherwise it will just be reinvented and there we go again.
          The monster, yes. But educate people about why it was locked away otherwise someone will get the idea to make it into a tragic hero or martyr.

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Good points — even locking these dangerous things away only delays the problem, until someone rediscovers how to make the weapon, or forgets why the monster shouldn’t be freed. But maybe you can keep the danger locked up long enough that you find the solution to it, that’s my hope. (At least, that’s what the heroes in my version of the story would be working on.)

            Liked by 1 person

  3. I watched a TV programme last night about an island in Ethiopia where apparently the Ark of the Covenant is kept. Nobody has seen it, but the entire country believes it’s there. Perhaps belief is enough.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

