Project 10K (P10K) November 2016

The Writing Badge for November
The Writing Badge for November

The Editing Badge for November
The Editing Badge for November

The I Met My Project Goal Badge
The I Met My Project Goal Badge

The I Had Other Things To Do Badge
The I Had Other Things To Do Badge

You’ll find the rules and a gallery of earlier badges on the Project 10K Page.

So how did your writing projects go in November? Please tell us about it in the comments.

1. Did you meet your writing/editing goals?
2. Did you have fun writing?
3. Did the P10K help with motivation?
4. Anything else you want to tell us?

Here are my answers:

nanowrimo_2016_webbanner_winner

  1. 2016-12-01-13_00_51-project-10k-p10k-november-2016-flights-of-fancyYESSSS! It was a rough ride though. I didn’t have much time and had to really push myself into hours of “power writing” to get to the word count. I can’t say if the story has to be added to the trash pile yet, it needs to settle down for a bit before I touch it again.
  2. Yes, I had a lot of fun with it. I had forgotten how much fun fantasy writing can be. The pressure was stressful but it did give me focus.
  3. The NaNoWriMo did that this month.

My goals for December are:

I know that I will be busy. I know that there are many distractions. I have a basket full of laundry waiting that will strangle me if I don’t iron it soon. I think I’ll be able to do some background research/organizing/world building/consistency edits etc. for the Nano story. I’m aiming for the P badge in December.

So, enough about me, how was your month? Please tell us in the comments, or link to your blog if you write about it there.

I wish you good luck, many good ideas and a lot of fun for November.

If you see this for the first time and this challenge interests you: Everyone is welcome, hop right in.

5 thoughts on “Project 10K (P10K) November 2016

  1. Congrats for NaNa, Gabi – well done. Not sure I’ve ever managed to write 50k in one month on a novel, though if I spent less time blogging, maybe I’d come closer … Nah, not going to happen 🙂 Now, off to see to that laundry, eh?

    Like

  2. Thank you, Lynn. 🙂 Nano is insanity, but it is also fun. I’m not hanging out on the forums or participate in write-ins, but there is this atmosphere of ‘so many write, omg’ that makes it special. They really are doing a good job with it, I think.

    Like

  3. Congratulations for winning NaNo Gabi! I’m so happy for you that you made such progress with this story and had a great time with it — hooray! It’s so good to see you back in the groove.

    For me: (1) Yes, I made my minimum word count goal of 10K – FINALLY — although I was really hoping to do even more, given all my colleagues off doing NaNo this month. (2) Mostly I had fun with it, yes. Most of what I did was writing rather than editing, and the writing parts were more fun, but they were also more flash fiction and short stories rather than making progress on my novel. However, I did have some major insights into some of my main characters that will help get me back on track, and that felt good. (3) P10K was definitely a motivator, yes!

    I’m not sure how much I’m going to get done in December. Work will let up a little as we get closer to break, but there are a ton of holiday things added to my everyday routine, especially during the weekends, which is when I normally get the most written. Plus I’ll be gone at my sister’s for the entire break, so I won’t get anything written while I’m gone. So, we’ll see.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Congrats, Joy, that is great. I’m glad you had fun with the writing and stayed motivated. Isn’t it strange how some characters are just right from the beginning without even giving much thought to them, and others don’t want to reveal who they are? I guess I’ll race you for the project badge in December then. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

