Shelter From The Storm – Friday Fictioneers Flash Fiction

Every Wednesday we get a new picture prompt for the Friday Fictioneers, a writing challenge graciously hosted by our Fairy Blog Mother Rochelle Wisoff-Fields.
The task of the challenge is to write a story: beginning, middle, and end, in 100 words or less. You can find all the Fictioneers’ stories when you click on the Froggy. Please read, comment, and if you like, join the fun. Everyone is welcome.


Shelter From The Storm

Jan W. Fields
Image ©Jan W. Fields. Used with permission for this Friday Fictioneers Challenge only. Any other use of this image requires Jan W. Field’s permission.
She needs to leave. She makes arrangements over the phone: for an apartment, for a job.

“If you go, don’t come back,” Father says. She nods.

He drives her. The city is an hour away. They don’t speak. The apartment building looks shabby, the manager isn’t there.

What now?

“Let’s go home,” Father says. She cries all the way back.

“We love you,” her parents say, but they don’t mean her, just who they think she should be. She promises to no longer see her friends.

If this is home, her shelter from the storm, why is she so broken?

(100 words)


I pledge

Done with the Nano… phew, that was close, but I did it. Nevertheless, maybe through write-overload, I was stumped by this week’s prompt. This is the only story I could come up with, dismissing dragons, plagues and other fun adventures for “I-don’t-even-know-what-genre-this-is.”

38 thoughts on “Shelter From The Storm – Friday Fictioneers Flash Fiction

  1. Being so close to breaking free, really trying for it, and then being turned back makes it all so much sadder. Maybe next time, she should get a ride with one of those friends her parents don’t like.

    Although having said that, I wonder how different this story would sound from the parents’ perspective, wanting the best for her, knowing she doesn’t have the long-term perspective or experience to understand the risks… Hm, interesting dilemma you’ve written here!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This may be my favorite FF that I’ve read so far. Great take on the prompt, very unique. It has a nice flow and an end that left me wanting a great day more.
    I wondered about line spacing for the sentence: “What now?” It’s such a powerful line in this story, it seems like it needs it’s own space. Just my two cents. 🙂
    Happy trails!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is so hard! She needs her independence, but the building sounds scary, so I’d be worried for her if she stayed and her folks sounds too strict – way too strict – but what are her friends like? They might be truly awful. No easy answers. I’m sure she’ll break free eventually.
    Nicely written Gabi – you took us right inside the dilemma there. Good stuff

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your lovely words, Lynn. I’m sorry I’m so terribly late this week. This was a bit of remembering the situation of some of my friends and myself back in the early seventies. Our parents had similar backgrounds: immigrants from eastern Europe, catholic, very backwards, and thrown into a different society with much more liberal values.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Nothing to be sorry for. That must have been so hard for all of you – you trying to live the same liberal life as your friends, your folks scared of how permissive their new country was. That must have led to a lot of clashes!

        Liked by 1 person

        1. We had many clashes, yes. But it also increases the understanding for the situation of others. There’ve always been people coming from other places/cultures and clashes occurred/occur. The refugee situation is only new because there are so many. The cultural problems shouldn’t really surprise anyone (except for those who want to be outraged).

          Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. And sorry for being so late. This is somewhat realistic, a conglomerate of my own and my friends experiences back in the seventies. Not all rebels are brave, some are merely desperate. Yay if it worked.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Björn. It is based on memories of my friends and myself who were kids of very strict parents who emigrated from various Eastern European countries to Germany after WW2. Catholic, used to obeying authority, backwards, thrown into a much more liberal society. A story that repeats itself over and over… And I’m sorry for being sooo late this week.

      Like

  4. Although we don’t really know why the parents are being so negative it sounds like they’re standing in the way of her success. That “my way or the highway approach” is way too old-fashioned and is standing in the way of her love for them. They’re blind when they should be supportive. They may fear the loss of her support in later years and are trying to keep her nearby. Good writing, Gabriele. 🙂 — Suzanne

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your insightful comment, Suzanne. This is a somewhat realistic memory of my friends’ and my situation. Our parents came from Eastern Europe, were very strict, a bit backwards, and thrown in the much more liberal German society (by their own choice). Not a new story. And I’m sorry for being so late.

      Like

  5. No need to apologize for being late, I’m usually sliding in at the last minute and I’m even later with reading this. It was very powerful, I like the dynamic between the father and daughter. The way I read it, independence was tempting but a bit scary, so she goes back home because she was not quite ready yet. I also had strict, catholic parents. I left home at 19 (a year later than I had planned) I was a bit sneaky about it, and scared (of my father, not of being on my own), and did it when my parents were in Italy. When he came back my father demanded I return home, but I refused – he didn’t talk to me for over a year.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your great comment. I left home at 21, my parents had time to get used to the idea that I was an adult, and not following their values. Took a while, and even then, there was a lot of friction remaining. Yay for you for being so brave.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It didn’t feel brave, it felt scary. But such is life. I don’t think my parents got used to the idea I was an adult until I married. I was 32 lol. Those old fashioned values 🙂 To tell the truth I feel old-fashioned these days 😉

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

