Inflight Briefing – Friday Fictioneers Flash Fiction

Every Wednesday we get a new picture prompt for the Friday Fictioneers, a writing challenge graciously hosted by our Fairy Blog Mother Rochelle Wisoff-Fields.
The task of the challenge is to write a story: beginning, middle, and end, in 100 words or less. You can find all the Fictioneers’ stories when you click on the Froggy. Please read, comment, and if you like, join the fun. Everyone is welcome.


Inflight Briefing

Lucy Fridkin
Image ©Lucy Fridkin. Used with permission for this Friday Fictioneers Challenge only. Any other use of this image requires Lucy Fridkin’s permission.
“Here we are. Entering atmosphere. You clones good to go?”

“Roger.”

“On my mark. 3…, 2…, 1…, Hoorah!”

“Hoorah!”

“Report. Ježíšek, Christkind, Père Noël, Father Christmas, Joulupukk, Дед Мороз, Olentzero, Papá Noél, Santa Haraboji, you know the routine? The dates?”

“Roger.”

“Excellent. Now, remember what the Old Man said. This time around, be seen. Especially the Claus clones there, you hear me?”

“Copy.”

“Don’t let the beards conceal your skin. I don’t know who came up with the harebrained idea that Santa is white, but it didn’t make the Old Man happy. Now go and show them.”

“Roger that.”

(100 words)


I pledgeThis silly little tale is my effort to wish you all happy holidays. I was so embarrassingly late last week with replying to, and reciprocating my reviewers that I considered to skip this week, but then Santa whispered in my ears. I hope I’ll be able to read and comment on more stories than last week. In case I can’t make it in the next few weeks (we all are busy, and work is insane), have a great time, whatever you celebrate.

68 thoughts on “Inflight Briefing – Friday Fictioneers Flash Fiction

  1. Ah, he does it with CLONES — now it all makes sense! Silly and fun, just right, I think. Nice touch with the “harebrained idea” bit about race, too. 🙂 Every culture seems drawn to create their gods (and heroes) in their own image — including Jesus, as Rochelle already pointed out.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Absolutely. Although, I’ve just learned (doing proper research…) that some cultures have different dates for gift giving. Some have Jan. 6th, some Jan 8th, and so on. Still, he’d be busy. I’m glad you enjoyed it, Russel. Thank you.

      Like

  2. Love it! I like especially the radio chatter. Fun stuff! Thanks for posting something fun and timely, Gabriele. It makes my day when people dare to be different (or silly, which this was all in fun).

    Five out of five ho’s.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Yes it does. And I can’t do it either, but I so like to read the other fictioneers’ stories, and the comments are often so interesting or funny. I can’t help feeling bad. At least I’ve so far always managed to reciprocate with my visitors.
      I think one of the early rules for the FF was to do just what you do. Take five in front and five behind, then everyone gets comments, early or late writers.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

