Looking back at 2016

maia
Maia the dog in the snow we don’t have. The picture is from last year.

Another year has come and gone. 2016: not so great. Do I have hopes for 2017? Yes, actually, I do although I’m aware that it could turn out to be even worse. But being the eternal optimist: 2017 will hopefully bring reason and empathy back to the planet.

I’m still not over the too early deaths of so many favourite actors, singers, musicians, writers.

Politics, do I even want to mention politics? Not really.

Personal? Not much change, except for my failed attempts at dieting. I still live in chaos, which shows on my waistline. Giving it another go in 2017. I know I can do it. I hope…
The SO, the cat, the dog, are all doing well.

Writing? Except for the last two weeks when work became too much, I wrote for the Friday Fictioneers every Wednesday. For most of the year I’ve been struggling with my Science Fiction wanna-be novel, but I didn’t set it far enough into the future, by the looks of it. I was writing about a somewhat-dystopian society that is fighting a totalitarian state and trying to maintain knowledge and how to live well without bringing the stone age back. pic449My totalitarian regime starts around 2050 and is run by artificial intelligence. There are walls built and elites pampered. Everyone else either obeys or disappears. Drones kill people. — Uhm.  I’m letting it simmer for the time being. In the meantime I’m editing a fantasy story I wrote for NaNoWriMo this November. That is still fun even though I’m about to fall into the same trap that always catches me: one thing leads to another and I get drowned in my own back story. Apart from that I’m having my usual ups and downs between ‘I can do that’ and ‘I suck so much at writing, I should delete all my files and go knit socks instead….’ Never mind, I can do both. Hah.

And in that sense, I wish you all a happy, healthy, successful and peaceful 2017.

 

9 thoughts on “Looking back at 2016

  1. Whatever you do, don’t delete those files! No matter how sure you are at the time that it’s a load of crap, I’m sure you’ll be able to find value in it if you return after a rest — and you’ll have more socks, too! (Did you really knit those? They look so good!) I join in with your optimism for the new year. Three cheers for better times ahead, if not with politics, at least with meaningful times shared with wonderful people, delicious foods to savor, and writing exciting new stories. Happy new year!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! No, not deleting anything… and even if I did, I’d still have my backups. Scrivener is good with that. 😉 Yes, I knitted these socks. I quite like knitting socks but usually have so many open projects that I rarely finish anything. Sounds familiar? Hm… We do live in exciting times, someone must have cursed us. I want boring back, better for writing…

      Like

      1. Unfortunately, being surrounded by unfinished projects *does* sound very familiar. Well, new year means new chance to finish them off, right? Good luck finding some nice, relaxing boring. 🙂

        Like

  2. Dear Gabi,

    Perhaps this year will bring a breakthrough on that novel. Never give up if it’s what you really want. And, as Tracey, wisely said, never throw out writing files. Two things I’d cut from PSKFM have resurfaced in AOMOC.
    Your lovely reviews of my books and ‘running’ into you on Facebook were two high points of my year. (3 actually – a review for each book. 😉 )
    I hope 2017 brings wonderful things to you.

    Shalom and Happy New Year,

    Rochelle

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you Rochelle. You are so kind. Our little chat was one of my highlights, too. I’ve just finished reading AOMOC, am delighted and will write a review soon. I’ll take a week or two more off of FF though, I seem out of stories atm.

    Like

Leave a Reply

