Together We Stand – Friday Fictioneers Flash Fiction

Every Wednesday we get a new picture prompt for the Friday Fictioneers, a writing challenge graciously hosted by our Fairy Blog Mother Rochelle Wisoff-Fields.
The task of the challenge is to write a story: beginning, middle, and end, in 100 words or less. You can find all the Fictioneers’ stories when you click on the Froggy. Please read, comment, and if you like, join the fun. Everyone is welcome.


Together We Stand

C.E. Ayr
Image ©C.E. Ayr. Used with permission for this Friday Fictioneers Challenge only. Any other use of this image requires C.E. Ayr’s permission.
Looking at these old railway tracks, I remember our history.

Tracks like these brought the trains we thought were filled with allies. Instead they held weapons. Weapons so vile, so powerful, they nearly destroyed us all.

The ones that brought the war upon us hid in caves, shelters, tunnels, and bunkers. When they came out again they were paler than pale, white like maggots. Some are blind, some have three eyes, none have magic. But they’re strong.

We’re all humans, and together we stand to face the evil that’s been awoken. Emerging from the deep, they’re ready to conquer: Dragons.

(100 words)


I pledge

Happy New Year, dear Friday Fictioneers. I took a break for a few weeks and felt I was completely out of stories. I’m glad that didn’t last.

64 thoughts on “Together We Stand – Friday Fictioneers Flash Fiction

    1. Thank you. Yes, these airships were great, maybe they’ll have a revival. The art is from pixabay, like all my header images (they rotate). I chose some images that tickle my writing bone and throw me into different worlds.

      Like

    1. When the US becomes a russian satellite, you won’t have to worry over there as long as you’re quiet, silent, and good little consumers. Europe and the rest of the world russia is interested in will have to worry very much.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Wow, love it! Especially the description of the enemy — hiding away and then emerging so creepy and disturbing (“white like maggots” made me shiver). I especially like the line “none have magic”; it evokes such intriguing ideas about why people might think they do, what rumors have been spreading, what have they done, how weird they really look.

    Good to see you back, I missed you too! I’ve been mostly missing from these pages myself lately, too. I hope we can all find a new, stable “sane and normal” soon.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sane and normal would be good. Thank you Joy, good to see you around again, too. I’m glad you like and find it interesting how you interpret the story. It’s totally logical but not quite how I meant it. These are 100 word pit falls. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It’s so true, trying to get a big story into these short pieces you always end up hinting, and those hints can be interpreted completely differently than you expected sometimes! But better to end up with two (or two dozen) different but interesting interpretations than none — it’s a sign that you left intriguing hints! 😉

        Liked by 1 person

        1. And that’s also the fun of the 100 word challenges. 🙂 I’ve come across a few discussions in the remote past, where authors were upset by fandom’s interpretation of story and characters. They wanted people to read their stories exactly *like that* and everything else would be blasphemy. Not going to happen, people read as they want, and learning that early is a good thing, I think.

          Liked by 1 person

          1. I agree — it’s unreasonable to expect that everyone’s going to read something the same way, whether it’s your words or anyone else’s. If it makes a writer upset, or if people are regularly misinterpreting their words, they could use it as a learning tool — examine what it is about the writing that might be leading to the alternate interpretation. For me, it depends on the level of confusion or misinterpretation. I certainly don’t want most readers to be scratching their heads, wondering what my story means! I’m reminded of when I was teaching: if all the students do badly on the test, it’s not them: it means I didn’t communicate the material effectively.

            Liked by 1 person

  2. A dark and fascinating tale, Gabi – love the description of what happens to the beings who vanish below ground for years (white like maggots – great stuff). Disturbing dystopia.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

