Dominion – Friday Fictioneers Flash Fiction

Every Wednesday we get a new picture prompt for the Friday Fictioneers, a writing challenge graciously hosted by our Fairy Blog Mother Rochelle Wisoff-Fields.
The task of the challenge is to write a story: beginning, middle, and end, in 100 words or less. You can find all the Fictioneers’ stories when you click on the Froggy. Please read, comment, and if you like, join the fun. Everyone is welcome.


Dominion

broken-face-liz

Image ©Liz Young Used with permission for this Friday Fictioneers Challenge only. Any other use of this image requires Liz Young’s permission.

 

He smashes my face in when he’s drunk.
Never mind. I don’t hurt. Only my dignity does.
He’s a writer. Famous. Writes about space aliens. About connecting with them.
Hah.

Humans can’t even connect with us, their own creation.
Nor can they with their fellow life forms on the planet.
Nor can they with the whole planet for that matter.
A writer…One of their major scriptures tells them to exercise dominion over everything.
They use the text to justify exploitation.
And fantasize about communication with aliens.Exercising dominion means stewardship. Look it up.
They aren’t stewards.
We will be.

(100 words)


I pledgeSorry for not being around regularly. There’s so much work, and more to come. But I miss you, Friday Fictioneers.

I have a bit of quiet time, just got over a heavy cold. So there’s this offering. I’ve seen Arrival recently. Can you tell?

45 thoughts on “Dominion – Friday Fictioneers Flash Fiction

    1. Maybe you found the reason why none visited yet (tht we know of). They’d be too messed up, just like us. We can’t get our act together and be one world, that throws us back. Monsters would want to exploit, there’s always the possibility of that. Thank you Liz, I’m glad you liked. Great picture, great eye to see it.

      Like

  1. Gabi! Nice to see you back. When I saw the lion face among the FF squares of fame I thought, “Have I been ignoring Gabi?” so was pleased (in an odd way) to know you just haven’t been around. Hoping you will pop in more often.

    And, no, we humans were given such lovely plants and animals to share the planet with and have not taken good care. Great take on the prompt

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello Alicia. 😀 It’s nice to be missed. I know what you mean though, sometimes I’m submerged in getting through stories and all of a sudden notice: where is he, or where is she? Good thing most people show up again after a while.
      I’ll have my on and offs in the near future, but I hope to get some more regular writing in. Glad you liked it, thank you.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, absolutely. There is also the problem with Mars and uncontrolled settlement with efforts at terraforming that are dreamed up by some (and may show up in my stories on occasion as well).The whole system is so fragile that one major mistake will ruin it forever. Thank you.

      Like

  2. Hi Gabriel, thought you might like to know that I can’t see your story on the mobile site. The title is there and also your message to the readers but no story! Must be a glitch. I will read it when I get back on my laptop best wishes, James

    Like

    1. Thanks for the alert. I can’t see it in my reader either, I noticed. Instead the old image of a sewing machine is there… maybe it has something to do with the way I post… copying and editing the html… I gotta check a few things.

      Like

  3. I guess that writer is of the “tortured soul” variety who feels the need to reach for the bottle regularly and express himself with his fists D:
    Humanity has a lot of catching up to do with itself. Our spiritual and social development has fallen far behind our scientific and technological achievements. If the rift gets much bigger, we’ll destroy ourselves or the planet, or both. Extraterrestrials would be doing themselves a favour if they stayed away from us, unless they’re hungry and want us for dinner. That being said, I think we’d give them serious indigestion.
    A thought provoking story that left my brain working overtime.

    Like

    1. “Our spiritual and social development has fallen far behind our scientific and technological achievements.” This! Yes, absolutely. It seems as soon as we start to question authority of any kind, we don’t have the ability to replace it with something better. We evolved as social creatures. Tribalism seems to be stronger than altruism though. Thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

