The Shroud – Friday Fictioneers Flash Fiction

Every Wednesday we get a new picture prompt for the Friday Fictioneers, a writing challenge graciously hosted by our Fairy Blog Mother Rochelle Wisoff-Fields.
The task of the challenge is to write a story: beginning, middle, and end, in 100 words or less. You can find all the Fictioneers’ stories when you click on the Froggy. Please read, comment, and if you like, join the fun. Everyone is welcome.


january-snowfall-nighttime

Image ©Sarah Potter Used with permission for this Friday Fictioneers Challenge only. Any other use of this image requires Sarah Potter’s permission.


The Shroud

Snow covers the land like a shroud, but winter isn’t death. It’s rest and regeneration and it has its own beauty.

When the sun comes out, ice crystals covering the branches of the leafless trees sparkle like diamonds. The snow glistens in all shades of blue. The air is crisp and clean, the blindingly bright sky seems limitless.

Over time the magic fades and gives way to rain and mud. And when spring and summer come, with it them come new growth, heat, thunderstorms, flowers and fruit and the whole cycle of life that gives us hope.

No, winter isn’t death.

(100 words)


I pledge

This was completely different for me, wasn’t it?

I was experimenting with descriptions this week because there was no story showing up in my mind that convinced me.
Oh, and I think I made a mistake. Spring and summer should be ‘them’, not ‘it’, right?

75 thoughts on “The Shroud – Friday Fictioneers Flash Fiction

  1. You have written a beautiful piece of descriptive prose. I love the sense of winter being part of a cycle and just as valid as any of the other seasons. I agree that winter is not dead. There are things living underground and new life waiting in the wings. I love to see ice sparkling in the sun and the shape of naked trees. Yes indeed, a happy and positive take on winter 🙂

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Ahhhhh! Gabi, that reminds me of winters growing up on ten acres of land as a kid. When we had snow, it was beautiful. Not easy to drive through, but beautiful. And spring! Wow! Thanks for this. you did great!

    Five out of five fire-logs. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yay, five logs. Thank you. 😀 I lived in Alberta for a while and you’d think with these cold, long winters I’d have enough. But they were wonderful. Dangerous, sometimes painfully cold, but a lot of sunshine, cross country skiing, ices skating on the river, ice fishing… I’m glad you liked.

      Like

  3. Oh my, I left a message but I must have done something to delete it. Grrrr ….
    No, I take it back the computer did something to erase it. Grrr … twice. : )
    The winter isn’t my favorite season but when it ends there’s the beauty that Spring will begin to create. Hopefully waiting for Spring ….
    Isadora 😎

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

