Project 10K (P10K) February 2017

You’ll find the rules and a gallery of earlier badges on the Project 10K Page.

Do you need a little incentive for writing more regularly? Then this project is for you.

How did your writing projects go in February? Please tell us about it in the comments.

1. Did you meet your writing/editing goals?
2. Did you have fun writing?
3. Did the P10K help with motivation?
4. Anything else you want to tell us?

Here are my answers:

  1. I’m taking the P badge again, because it’s been more project work than editing for me in February. I looked up a lot, did some editing, worked on world-building and the like, but that’s difficult to put into a word count.
  2. I was sick and accordingly very tired and unmotivated for two weeks, so I didn’t do as much as I could have, but at least I was thinking through some plot points that had bothered me, so I’m not unhappy.
  3. Yes, I need this, otherwise I’d be too lazy/have other things to do.
  4. I read somewhere that if you want to be a writer, writing has to be your focus. I like to write, but I also like to do other things. I also have a demanding, full-time job. Sometimes writing is on the back-burner. Ergo, I’m not a good writer? How do you all handle this?

My goals for March are:

More of the same. Some editing, more world building. I need to get the rules straight, the characters sorted out, the plot as clean as possible before I can do some serious rewrite/edit. I’m clear about my pov now, too, and really want to dive in.

So, enough about me, how was your month? Please leave a comment, or link to your blog if you write about it there. I’d really like to hear about your experiences.

And, as always, good luck, many good ideas and a lot of fun for March.

If you see this for the first time and this challenge interests you: Everyone is welcome, hop right in.

3 thoughts on “Project 10K (P10K) February 2017

  1. I just barely got my 10K in last month, a combination of writing and editing. But I *finally* rewrote my problematic chapter 1 which is now much less problematic, and revised the next few chapters too, so that feels good! I had a weird month for writing because I scrambled to get things written and revised before going to a writers’ conference, and then I spent a whole weekend there talking and thinking about writing but not actually writing. (Usually weekends are my big writing blocks.) Then the rest of the month has been largely playing catch-up on “real life” stuff. And yes, like you, a full time job that takes an awful lot of time and effort. Especially the past few days, when I’ve barely had time to even check my email before or after work, much less answer it, or read blogs, or WRITE. But the big deadline at work is almost done, so I hope to get in some good writing time this weekend.

    I’m not sure how other writers manage to do a ton of writing and still have a full time job, much less the rest of their lives. They must be much more organized than I am, or at least more focused. Writing is not always my main priority. But then, I’m not “a success” so maybe don’t listen to me? 😉 I have fun with it, and that’s what’s important to me. This month I want to find a better balance between writing short stories, the novel, and posting flash fiction on my blog (which I haven’t been able to do much lately). I’ve resuscitated one of my old critique groups with new members (yay!), so now I’m doing critique group once a week again instead of every other week — which hopefully means writing every weekend. That’s the goal!

    Happy writing!

    Like

  2. You are doing so much, I’m sure you’ll be a ‘success’ eventually. I think we face many more distractions today than in ‘the old days’. Just take research. For me it’s like this: I go on Google Earth to look at a place in detail, I look for websites about that place–and then there’s this interesting thing, and that, and that… and before I know it, it’s late. And with these deadlines, I hear ya. I’ll be having a week full of meetings next week, and when that’s done, I usually fall into a black hole, just sitting around, too drained to think of much other than watching a movie and knitting a bit or such.
    But yay, congrats on that problematic chapter! 😀

    Like

  3. Pingback: Fear

Leave a Reply

