The Thing – Friday Fictioneers Flash Fiction

Every Wednesday we get a new picture prompt for the Friday Fictioneers, a writing challenge graciously hosted by our Fairy Blog Mother Rochelle Wisoff-Fields.
The task of the challenge is to write a story: beginning, middle, and end, in 100 words or less. You can find all the Fictioneers’ stories when you click on the Froggy. Please read, comment, and if you like, join the fun. Everyone is welcome.


jennifer-pendergast5

Image ©Jennifer Pendergast. Used with permission for this Friday Fictioneers Challenge only. Any other use of this image requires Jennifer’s permission.


The Thing

The thing in the clearing looks completely out-of-place. It is made from wood and resembles a gigantic pocket watch.

The wood-troll beckons us closer and stretches one of his stubby arms upwards. With some effort he gets the watch hands to whirl. Then he dances.

I gawk at the spectacle but get nudged in the ribs by my companion who is humming a low tune. Does he want me to sing? No way! Instead I clap the rhythm and get an approving nod.

The thing now glows.

“Go,” the troll rasps. I close my eyes and step through the portal.

(100 words)


I pledge

 

What is this thing? Other than a magical portal…

65 thoughts on “The Thing – Friday Fictioneers Flash Fiction

    1. Maybe, and maybe all trolls aren’t the same? 🙂 I certainly wouldn’t want to meet the Spanish Inquisition… but I wouldn’t mind travelling back in time enough to meet all of Monty Python. Thank you Russel, bold adventure was what I had in mind.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Ah, singing trolls. I’ve just finished reading The Long Earth by Terry Pratchett and Stephen Baxter, so know all about their songs. I wonder what is beyond that portal in your story — whether it is good or bad. I hope your protagonist is a good singer, or else…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m afraid she is a lousy singer… 😀 I haven’t read that book by Terry Pratchett yet, so I don’t know anything about these singing trolls. I think I must read it soon. I generally like to take tropes and play with them. Thank you.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

