House of Darkness – Friday Fictioneers Flash Fiction

Every Wednesday we get a new picture prompt for the Friday Fictioneers, a writing challenge graciously hosted by our Fairy Blog Mother Rochelle Wisoff-Fields.
The task of the challenge is to write a story: beginning, middle, and end, in 100 words or less. You can find all the Fictioneers’ stories when you click on the Froggy. Please read, comment, and if you like, join the fun. Everyone is welcome.

I have to apologize for my very, very late reviews for last week’s stories, the ones I got around to do anyway. I just had recovered from an evil cough and got my energy back when, bang, another cold hit me last Friday. Sore throat, running nose, blocked brain and another cough… that’s been my week. It’s still not over but I hope it will be soon. I really don’t want to have the third bug that floats around, which translates into the pestilence of the gut… And so, always optimistic, I contribute this week although maybe I shouldn’t. I’m hopeful that this week I can keep up with reviews… (waves fist at viruses and bacteria).


gateway-jhardy

Image ©J Hardy Carroll Used with permission for this Friday Fictioneers Challenge only. Any other use of this image requires J Hardy Carroll’s permission.


House of Darkness

This is my house. The place that made me what I am, where I belong.
Isn’t it lovely? So full of traditions, so prestigious.

Its history casts shadows that darken the windows, that  rattle the rafters. The walls echo the cries of anger and pain. It’s a history full of disillusionment, of violence, and abuse.
Perfect.
Until now.

Now you come along, full of laugher, love and happiness. You think you can drive me away with your smiles, and your kindness.

Think again. You know me. I’m patient. I feed on misery. Eventually, I’ll get you. I get them all.

(100 words)


I pledge

I’ve had my bit of chit-chat at the top of the post already, but I just want to add: The Friday Fictioneers challenge is so addictive, it takes an effort to not post. And who’d want to get rid of that addiction? No I…

 

59 thoughts on “House of Darkness – Friday Fictioneers Flash Fiction

    1. Thank you Rochelle. No, that cough wasn*t/isn’t fun, but it’ll pass. There really are worse things, so I won’t whine too much about it. I hate it when it slows me down though. 😉 I’m glad you liked the ghost story.

      Like

            1. Ah, no, that sucks big time. Strep? That’s really painful. I had that once several (too many) years ago, needed antibiotics, too. Since then, whenever I feel a sore throat, I brush and gurgle like mad, avoid sugar and everything sweet (feeds the bacteria) and hope for the best. Knock on wood…

              Liked by 1 person

    1. Exactly! Happiiness (the good kind) is the enemy of evil. I’m sure evil is happy when it succeeds, so does its own happiness weaken it? I think I have a knot in my brain… 😉 I’m glad you like it, thank you.

      Like

Leave a Reply

