Lady Wisdom – Friday Fictioneers Flash Fiction

Every Wednesday we get a new picture prompt for the Friday Fictioneers, a writing challenge graciously hosted by our Fairy Blog Mother Rochelle Wisoff-Fields.
The task of the challenge is to write a story: beginning, middle, and end, in 100 words or less. You can find all the Fictioneers’ stories when you click on the Froggy. Please read, comment, and if you like, join the fun. Everyone is welcome.


fatima-fakier-deria1

Image © Fatima Fakier Deria. Used with permission for this Friday Fictioneers Challenge only. Any other use of this image requires Fatima Fakier Deria’s permission.


Lady Wisdom

She’s under full sail and running fast before a steady wind. Her prow is shaped like a bird–an owl–its mighty wings spread wide. My ability to wisecrack has left me, my mouth hangs open and my eyes hurt from staring.

“This… this ship is sailing in the sky,” I croak when I find my voice.

 “So she is,” he says, eyes twinkling. He’s laughing at me

 “The Flying Dutchman….” I’m mesmerized.

 “A myth.” He sighs. “She’s Lady Wisdom, one of our flying schools.“

 I was born in the wrong world. How I wish I was a faerie child…

(100 words)


I pledge

Away with the horror and ghosts of last week. Let’s have some faerie adventures.

59 thoughts on “Lady Wisdom – Friday Fictioneers Flash Fiction

  1. First of all, thank you for adding a new word to my vocabulary : prow. I had to look it up. I guess that means I’m not a sailor for sure; a mermaid yes.
    I enjoyed your take on the prompt. BTW – I’m in for a bit of a flight.
    I might have to tie my fins together. Have a nice weekend.
    Isadora 😎

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

