Royal Audience – Friday Fictioneers Flash Fiction

Every Wednesday we get a new picture prompt for the Friday Fictioneers, a writing challenge graciously hosted by our Fairy Blog Mother Rochelle Wisoff-Fields.
The task of the challenge is to write a story: beginning, middle, and end, in 100 words or less. You can find all the Fictioneers’ stories when you click on the Froggy. Please read, comment, and if you like, join the fun. Everyone is welcome.


jellico3

Image ©  Jellico’s Stationhouse. Used with permission for this Friday Fictioneers Challenge only. Any other use of this image requires Jellico Stationhouse’s permission.


Royal Audience

“What were you thinking, Abigail? What will Mab say?”

“She doesn’t need to know.”

“Too late.” An angry voice made two embarrassed witches sink to their knees.

“Your Highness…”

“How dare you bring ordinary humans into my realm?”

“But…”

“Silence! The portal-bikes  were for you alone, not tourists. I trusted you… I take it they paid you handsomely?”

“Yes, but we’d give you…”

“Money means nothing to me.”

“They brought their dreams. Just look at them.”

Mab’s gaze wandered to the visitors’ faces. They looked around with glassy eyes and dreamy smiles.

“I see. Introduce me.”

“Queen Mab, meet Rochelle, Dale, Magaly, Louise, Justjoyfulness, Joy, Alicia, Michael, Björn, Isadora, and Stephanie.”

(99 words without Friday Fictioneers, 111 words with Friday Fictioneers)


I pledge

Last week, several people said in reply to my little faerie story that it would be cool to visit the magical realm. I thought that could be arranged. And yes, I cheated with the word count. I hope Rochelle will forgive me.

91 thoughts on “Royal Audience – Friday Fictioneers Flash Fiction

  1. Ooo, how fun! And I love the portal bikes too. Much more comfortable than a broom, I would think!

    And yes, as soon as you say “She doesn’t need to know” you can pretty much bet she’s right behind you listening — how funny!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I note your story was 99 words. The word ‘Martin’ would’ve bumped it up to a nice round 100…alternatively I might be being epically high maintenance!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. WOW .. I’m so happy to be traveling with such great company through portals of adventure. Thank you for adding me in your story even if it’s a brief mention. : )
    Isn’t it fun when the imagination can be let out of its’ bindings…???!!!
    Have a grand wekkend …. 🌴☀️😎🌺
    Isadora 😎

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Absolutely, imagination must run free. It’s been a bit of light fun, I don’t usually include real peole in my stories, but since you all asked so nicely… 😉
      Thank you Isadora and a great weekend to you, too. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Hey, that Abigail has stolen some of my friends. I hope she returns them to this portal, pronto, or I’ll jump portals like an avenging angel and snatch them back 😉

    A fun story, although I don’t think those listed are ordinary humans!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re right, but does Mab know? She’ll find out… 🙂 These friends have begged to go there, btw (refers to my story a week earlier), so they got the chance. Don’t be so hard on these witches. 😉 Thank you.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

