Dreams of Dancing – Friday Fictioneers Flash Fiction

Every Wednesday we get a new picture prompt for the Friday Fictioneers, a writing challenge graciously hosted by our Fairy Blog Mother Rochelle Wisoff-Fields.
The task of the challenge is to write a story: beginning, middle, and end, in 100 words or less. You can find all the Fictioneers’ stories when you click on the Froggy. Please read, comment, and if you like, join the fun. Everyone is welcome.


shoes-and-books-by-magaly-guerrero

Image © Magaly Guerrero. Used with permission for this Friday Fictioneers Challenge only. Any other use of this image requires Magaly Guerrero’s permission.


Dreams of Dancing

The looters always overlook panic rooms and bunkers. She, on the other hand, knows where to look. This bunker’s gold. There’s canned meat, crackers, even wine. And shoes.

The high heels are the only ones that fit but she’ll take the others, too. She’ll trade them—for her life or other things. But these heels… not great for walking.

Maybe if she cuts them off ? No, the shoes are too pretty. She’ll just leave them here to look at during supper. Later, when the wine’s soft fire rolls over her tongue, she dreams of a time when people danced.

(100 words)


I pledge

Last week was pure madness at work, I had to skip the challenge. This week’s better, I have the week off. If I disappear for a bit in the near future, it’s because of work being too demanding. But I’ll be back. I miss you people, even if I’m only gone for a week.

61 thoughts on “Dreams of Dancing – Friday Fictioneers Flash Fiction

  1. This was wonderful, Gabriele. I think we have to hold on to the lovely things in difficult times (even if they are only in our mind, better if there is a piece of something!)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This story tugged an “Ohhhh” out of me. I love it! Perhaps my favorite so far this week. (I have said many times that if I had money to burn I would have an entire wall of high heels – only one of each – behind glass. Well spotlit like in a museum. Each shoe would be its own work of art.) P.S I DO NOT and never have worn heels – torture at its finest.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw, thank you Alicia. I can’t chose favourite stories–I read one and am blown away, and on to the next, and again, and again… 🙂 I tried to wear heels in my youth, wobbled along (luckily the thick block heels and plateau shoes were in fashion then…) gave it up soon and never wore them since. I found that comfortable feet make a long day much easier…

      Like

  3. Beautifully written but so sad. It would be incredibly hard to imagine ever dancing again under circumstances such as those. Maybe seeing those shoes is a mixed blessing for the story’s narrator, as they bring into focus what the world has lost and how certain things that were once treasured have no practical purpose. It also makes me feel incredibly lucky and less likely to grumble for the rest of the day!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

