Project 10K (P10K) April 2017

You’ll find the rules and soon a complete gallery of earlier badges on the Project 10K Page.

Do you need a little incentive for writing more regularly? Then this project is for you.

This month is the One-Year anniversary of Project 10K. Where did the time go? I hope it helped a few people with their motivation. I know it helped Joy Pixley who reports in regularly, and it certainly helped me. How about you? Did it help you with your writing projects? Please tell us about it in the comments.

1. Did you meet your writing/editing goals?
2. Did you have fun writing?
3. Did the P10K help with motivation?
4. Anything else you want to tell us?

Here are my answers:

  1. I participated in Camp NaNoWriMo, our “Camp Plot Bunnies” cabin from last year and set my goal to 15K words. And then work went crazy. I struggled, but I made it.
  2. I was and am still going through the ‘this sucks so much it hurts’ phase but I did have fun and still do.
  3. It can’t get better than the original Plot Bunnies cabin, so P10K this month wasn’t really what pushed me.
  4. I want to say thank you to the participants of Camp Plot Bunnies. They are making this crazy activity so much fun. They are understanding and encouraging, great writers, and I feel very lucky to be part of that group. And:

Camp-2017

My goals for May are:

More writing. I’ve barely made it through 1/3rd of my WIP. So I’ll set my goal to another 10K words even though I still have a lot of structuring, outlining and re-plotting to do. That’s easier when the scenes are written in the right pov and voice though, and I think I got that now.

So, enough about me, how was your month? Please leave a comment, or link to your blog if you write about it there. I’d really like to hear about your month.

And, as always, good luck, many good ideas and a lot of fun for May.

If you see this for the first time and this challenge interests you: Everyone is welcome, hop right in.

5 thoughts on “Project 10K (P10K) April 2017

  1. It’s hard to believe a whole year has passed!

    (1) Yes and no. I did (on the very last day) meet my word count goal for writing and editing, which is great. But I had somehow imagined having so many more stories *done* for that much effort. I still feel like I’m buried under a bunch of not-finished-stuff. Still, at least it’s more finished than it was on March 31 — hooray!

    (2) On the two weekends when I actually had serious time to devote to writing, yes it was fun to crank out those words! But I find it’s just not fun for me to try to squeeze in a half-hour or hour of writing here and there, between stressful work and home stuff.

    (3) Same as you — the Camp NaNo was more motivating this time around. But now that I’ve shown myself that I can write/edit 20,000 (!) words for Camp NaNo even in a really stressful month, I have renewed purpose for committing to 10,000 words all the other months.

    (4) Same as you here, too — three cheers for the Plot Bunnies! Having supportive writer friends really makes a difference during those rough periods.

    My goal for next month is to keep revising the short stories I started or revised this month, and actually send at least ONE out for publication. Whew!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Way to go, Joy. Congrats! I hear you on being buried in work. I can’t just sit down for half an hour to write either, I try to make a habit out of it late in the evening–but with the amount of work I’m having atm, I’m getting so tired… LOL.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I know that feeling exactly. I get home from a busy day of nonstop thinking and talking and problem-solving, and I can’t even calm my mind down enough to read, much less write. I’m going to try that, though; rearrange so that I’m doing my beta read in the evenings and trying to write or deal with edits in the mornings — now that my project coordinator is trained and I don’t have to be at work by 8:00 to do her job (and mine) anymore. But I still have a lot of catching up to do for things that got put aside during the craziness. I basically spent all day yesterday (Saturday) doing housework, including 8 loads of laundry, whew. I still carved out a little time today on revisions — thank goodness for writers’ group, so I *have* to come up with something new to share every week!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I did something like this last week. Pretty much I have myself 24 hours to write 10k words and though I only came in at 9,200 it was a ton of fun and it seemed to be fairly popular on social media. Good luck with your writing and I hope your May goals go well!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

