Project 10K (P10K) June 2017

Happy 150th Birthday to our Canadian friends!

You’ll find the rules and soon a complete gallery of earlier badges on the Project 10K Page.

Do you need a little incentive for writing more regularly? Then this project is for you.

1. Did you meet your writing/editing goals?
2. Did you have fun writing?
3. Did the P10K help with motivation?
4. Anything else you want to tell us?

Here are my answers:

  1. Nope, Zero, Nothing. Not a single word. Again.
  2. Since I didn’t, I didn’t. I actually like my work, and there is lots and lots of it. Maybe I should wait with the writing until I’m retired? If I’d count the work-related stuff and coding, I’d get pretty close to the 10K, but the fiction? Nothing.
  3. Almost. There were moments when I thought about the characters and plot. But I thought about the consequences, stressing myself out too much, and let it be
  4. I hope I’ll get my mojo back soon, otherwise I’ll have to think about something else for the blog.

My goals for July are:

Get back into the Friday Fictioneers challenge. I miss it, mostly the people, the interaction, and the brilliant flash fic. Otherwise I’m not setting any goals.

And how did your writing go? Please leave a comment, or link to your blog if you write about it there. I’d really like to hear about your month.

And, as always, good luck, many good ideas and a lot of fun for July.

If you see this for the first time and this challenge interests you: Everyone is welcome, hop right in.

5 thoughts on “Project 10K (P10K) June 2017

  1. Ugh, me too! I only managed to write 6 flash fiction stories for the whole month, YUCK! I don’t have the word count in front of me, but I’d be surprised if that’s even 1K. I did some really minor revisions on one short story, but that’s it. The good news is that yes, I did have fun writing, when I was writing. But no, I didn’t make progress toward most of my goals. 😦

    I have a good excuse though, which is that this month at work kicked my butt! The good news is that I totally SAVED my big research project — the funding agency is happy with us again, our research won’t be stopped, and I won’t have to fire 10 people and find myself a new job — so all that work and stress was worth it. But yeah, next month I am totally catching up on writing, whew!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. But that’s great. I mean, we are lucky that we like our work and doing a good job, aren’t we? I’ve taken on an additional task to the load I already had, and that turned out to be more time consuming than expected. But it’s also rewarding. I like to solve problems and am not bad at it, so there’s progress.
      And whoa, saving your project, that’s so important, what an achievement. You really did great, and managed to write something, on top of it. I’ll have to steal a bit of your motivation. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I agree, and I’m happy for you that you enjoy your work, especially enough to take on even more of it. I have writer friends whose jobs don’t use their minds as much, so they’re able to write or at least think about their writing even when they’re on the clock. My job is so absorbing that that’s never possible, but the trade of is worth it to me. It is a little much though, to spend all day long writing and editing at a computer at work and then come home and face… writing and editing at a computer at home. The words just stop flowing after the first 12 hours or so. Speaking of, boggledygobbledybiggledlyguk; (that’s the word soup I have left for the day, haha!)

        Better luck to both of us in meeting our writing goals next month!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I have no idea when I will be able to commit to writing 10k words again. Little by little things get edited but that’s about all I’ve managed to achieve in June. Glad to see you back at FF.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

