In the Dungeon – Friday Fictioneers Flash Fiction

Every Wednesday we get a new picture prompt for the Friday Fictioneers, a writing challenge graciously hosted by our Fairy Blog Mother Rochelle Wisoff-Fields.
The task of the challenge is to write a story: beginning, middle, and end, in 100 words or less. You can find all the Fictioneers’ stories when you click on the Froggy. Please read, comment, and if you like, join the fun. Everyone is welcome.


claire-sheldon

Image © Claire Sheldon. Used with permission for this Friday Fictioneers Challenge only. Any other use of this image requires Claire Sheldon’s permission.


In the Dungeon

Have you ever tried to pick a lock with a paper clip?  I have, and let me tell you, it’s not as easy as the stories make it out to be.

You’re supposed to insert one straight clip to keep the cylinder in place and move the small parts with a hook. In theory. Today it just won’t work, not even with these primitive-looking locks.

You see, where I am, turning a key isn’t enough. You need magic.  I have no magic. I’m just a portal jumper—and I’m getting nervous. They talked about dragons. It’s getting hot in here.

(100 words)


I pledgeIt’s been two whole months since I wrote something for the Friday Fictioneers, where did the time go? I missed you people. I can’t say I’m back because I don’t know yet. Participating is time-consuming and I’m not sure I’ll have that time on a regular basis. When I participate, I want to read and comment on the other entries. So, let’s just say, I’m back for now. I may disappear again, for a while. Sorry…

Added: It’s been so long that I forgot to add my name on the InLinkz page. Sorry, Rochelle…

57 thoughts on “In the Dungeon – Friday Fictioneers Flash Fiction

  1. I’ve had role playing games like this with my eight-year-old grandson. Often our games involve opening portals to other dimensions, and just for fun, I sometimes say these other quantum realities have different physical laws.

    For instance, if a superhero like “The Flash” runs into our universe, our physical laws don’t support the “speed force” so he can’t run at super speed. The same for a sorcerer who goes into a world with no magic. It’s great fun but being eight, he has to find a way around my “rules” so he can win.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Oh that sounds like so much fun! I used to play D&D with friends eons ago, this sounds like something we would have done, too. We always set our own rules and tried to make the games a bit more logical and less stereotyp-y. I hear you on the rules of magic and technology in different universes. How lame when all the superpowers work everywhere. Snip, problem solved. Where’s that conflict? Thank you. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Tracey. I do feel a bit rusty. I guess jumping back in may have to do with a new month. At least for me that’s true, I’m not neglecting my P10K challenge, even if I don’t have much time. That reminds me every month that I should at least try… It’s good to see you all again. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Ah, Dale, thank you. I’ve been so bad with the blogging and didn’t even read friends’ posts. I will have to overcome my dislike on facebook and follow you all there, throw around a few likes and see what you’re up to. Glad you liked the story. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Björn. From the fire into the frying pan,as we say where I live. I guess portal jumping needs good travel guides. That would be another story… It’s good to be back. 🙂

      Like

  2. I missed you too! Glad to see you popped back, even if not necessarily for good. Clever take on the prompt — love how you got both dragons and “just a portal jumper” in there. And I agree — the movies make lock picking with a couple paper clips look far too easy!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Joy. 🙂 I read so many stories… so I got an old lock, downloaded instructions and tried it myself. I managed some clicks, but no open. Paperclips are too soft, and modern locks don’t work that way anyway.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Fun story, Gabriele. Your absence was keenly felt. I haven’t been contributing much for some time myself, so it’s been awhile for me, too. Anyway, a very funny type of story. Nice work.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Sandra. I’m glad you liked. When I come here, I want to read and comment, and for that I need more time than for writing. Deciding to just stay away for a bit was a good thing to do for meI hate to start things and not finish. That stresses me out most.

      Like

  4. I used to play D&D, too. Great fun it was, too, along with all the packets of crisps and bottles of beer we got through at the same time! I’m guessing that the dragon in your story is chained up and provides central heating for the whole castle, in exchange for tasty morsels … i.e. portal-jumping humans 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hah, now there’s an idea. That would make these cold, draughty castles a lot more comfortable. And you have a watch-dragon, too. Thank you Sarah, glad you liked. 🙂 Your D&D sounds like mine. We threw some cos playing in, too (primitive compared to what kids these days do at conventions), and had a puppet theater added once. Those were the days… 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I’ve never picked locks with paper clips but my brother taught me how to open padlocks with a safety pin. So I’m very limited in my time travel range.
    Good one. Glad you’re able to participate this time. I know that “behind and swamped” feeling very well.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, a safety pin. I’ll have to try that with my old lock. That’s sure less bendy than paper clips, and you (or the people you write about) can have one pinned to your clothes. Handy… Thank you. 🙂

      Like

    1. Portals are often used in fantasy to move from our world into another, magical one. In Science Fictions it’s used for travelling through dimensions or universes. So my portal jumper would be an adventurer who leaves it up to chance where she’ll end up, just trying any odd portal that comes along. 😉 Thank you Liz.

      Like

Leave a Reply

