Harvester – Friday Fictioneers Flash Fiction

Every Wednesday we get a new picture prompt for the Friday Fictioneers, a writing challenge graciously hosted by our Fairy Blog Mother Rochelle Wisoff-Fields.
The task of the challenge is to write a story: beginning, middle, and end, in 100 words or less. You can find all the Fictioneers’ stories when you click on the Froggy. Please read, comment, and if you like, join the fun. Everyone is welcome.


janet-webb-french-still-life

Image © Janet Webb. Used with permission for this Friday Fictioneers Challenge only. Any other use of this image requires Janet Webb’s permission.


Harvester

Theirs is a world of great beauty.

Look at my jar. Thousands of sparks glow like tiny galaxies caught in a universe of glass. This is my treasure, my reason to be here. Harvest was good but now the time has come for moving on to the next world.

I light the Wandering Candle. Before I leave, I look around one last time.

They are unique. I never met creatures like them. Look at that human lying there: beautiful even in death. Graceful and fragile. They give up their life-force so easily. Maybe that’s why their souls shine so bright.

(100 words)


I pledge

Two weeks in a row. I just saw my mojo from the corner of my eye. Soon I’ll catch it. I need it back. But this beastie is fast…

66 thoughts on “Harvester – Friday Fictioneers Flash Fiction

  1. Beautifully written, and so many intriguing hints at the world and what’s going on. The “harvesting” thing sounds pretty ominous to me, I must say. My interpretation was that the narrator was an alien, rather than a death deity. An alien who seems to appreciate humans, but is not necessarily operating toward our best interests.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I had a soul snatcher from another universe in mind, but it could be any of these. I’m glad you liked. And the Wandering Candle was, kind of, stolen from Neil Gaiman’s Babylon Candles in Stardust. Or should I say ‘inspired by…’ sounds better, eh? 😉

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your kind words. The muse will be back. Give her or him a break. It did help me to just let it go for a bit when I thought I was out of ideas. If there are no deadlines…

      Like

  2. Brilliant. Reminded me of the movie ‘Jupiter Ascending’. I’ve always been fascinated by the idea of harvesting a whole race from a planet or a galaxy even. Kudos on getting the point across withing 100 words. Cheers, Varad

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wonderfully crafted story. I like the soft benign voice that cloaked what should be perceived as evil from the humans point of view. Love the last line.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Predators do what they have to do. Perhaps whoever he or she is doesn’t perceive us as sentient, somewhat how many of us still perceive animals. I’m glad you liked, thank you.

      Like

    1. I thought Alien too, when I wrote it. Predators (except for humans) usually kill in all innocence. I tried to ge a bit of that into the Alien, and maybe a bit of disregard for the ‘inferior’. Thank you Suzanne.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. It harvests 42! souls and then it dies. It always harvests a prime number of souls on any world it visits. And I do know something else. We don’t value the beauty of our world enough. 😉 Thank you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

