Emergency Rescue Service — Friday Fictioneers Flash Fiction

Every Wednesday we get a new picture prompt for the Fabulous Friday Fictioneers, a writing challenge graciously hosted by our Fairy Blog Mother Rochelle Wisoff-Fields.
The task of the challenge is to write a story: beginning, middle, and end, in 100 words or less. You can find all the Fictioneers’ stories when you click on the Froggy. Please read, comment, and if you like, join the fun. Everyone is welcome.


phone-booth by j.h.carroll

Image © J Hardy Carroll Used with permission for this Friday Fictioneers Challenge only. Any other use of this image requires J Hardy Carroll’s permission.


Emergency Rescue Service

Where’s my phone? Cassie thinks as she hears the noise. “Hello? Anybody there?”

“Indeed.”

“Where are you? Isn’t there some light?”

“Certainly.” A flame erupts from the snout of a large creature.

Cassie screams.

“Now, now,” the creature says. “I’m not here to eat you. I’m awfully sorry but I can’t converse while spitting fire, as I’m sure you’ll understand when you think about it.”

“What?”

“I was searching for you. I’ll take you home. Don’t be afraid.”

“You’re a dragon.”

“Very astute. Get on with it.”

Who needs a phone? Cassie thinks as she climbs on the dragon’s back.

(100 words)


I pledge

I didn’t think I could make it this week. Mountains of work seem to smother my ideas. I dug this out of an old NaNo project and modified it a bit.

And: facebook won’t let me connect to my account there any more. #§$!&##*§ facebook. I never liked it.

34 thoughts on “Emergency Rescue Service — Friday Fictioneers Flash Fiction

  1. Well, this was actually a fun read, so GREAT, Gabi, for re-purposing material. I did that with my entry, too. In fact, it’s always good to haul out the old stuff because we get newer audiences all the time who haven’t seen what else we have. Plus, we have the ability to re-write it and make it better or different than we originally intended. Nice work! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m always reluctant to show my stuff without my beta reader, but this NaNo project was crap. I did like a few scenes though, so I’m glad I could throw that in here. Editing though took more time than writing, I think. I’m glad you liked. 🙂

      Like

  2. Dear Gabriele,

    Everyone should have his or her own dragon. Imaginative and funny. As for repurposing, I’ve been doing quite a bit of that lately, taking my old FF pieces and adding 50 words for What Pegman Saw, a relatively new blog challenge. Great fun, especially when life becomes overwhelmingly full.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hah, absolutely, that’s what I think, too. Thank you. About the pegman, yes, I’m aware of the challenge and eye it with interest, but I just don’t have time right now for two challenges. The Fictioneers exhaust me as it is. 😉 Great that you enjoy it.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

