Noli Tangere — Friday Fictioneers Flash Fiction

Every Wednesday we get a new picture prompt for the Fabulous Friday Fictioneers, a writing challenge graciously hosted by our Fairy Blog Mother Rochelle Wisoff-Fields.
The task of the challenge is to write a story: beginning, middle, and end, in 100 words or less. You can find all the Fictioneers’ stories when you click on the Froggy. Please read, comment, and if you like, join the fun. Everyone is welcome.


rock ceayr

Image © CEAyr Used with permission for this Friday Fictioneers Challenge only. Any other use of this image requires C. E. Ayr’s permission.


Noli Tangere

I’ve no idea where the rock came from. One day it sat there, in the middle of my yard, its many holes and dents staring at me, daring me to touch it.

Not able to resist, I put my left hand into the large hole and was swept away, finding myself looking out of a panoramic window at a world of unimaginable beauty. No human seemed to have touched it yet there were objects floating in the sky, their metallic shine indicating artificial origin. A stunningly beautiful woman stood at my side and smiled.

“Come here everyone,” she warbled. “Dinner’s arrived.”

(101 words, there was an ‘a’ missing…)


I pledgeThree run-on sentences in a row. I’m sorry…

If anyone’s eyes hurt because of my punctuation, feel free to correct it. I appreciate constructive criticism.

Oh, and I’m not trying to win a competition for posting early. I’m very busy at the moment. When I can post early, I have more time to read, and comment on, other stories.

99 thoughts on “Noli Tangere — Friday Fictioneers Flash Fiction

    1. I was wrestling with a longer story about an artist, and beautiful worlds… couldn’t cut it from 200 words, so I had to come up with something else. I’m glad it almost made you spit… 🙂 And I have 101 words instead of my usual 100, the shame! I forgot an ‘a’, LOL. Thank you Rochelle.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Clever bit of sci-fi horror,there — I knew as soon as someone touched that rock, *something( was going to happen, either very good or very bad. Fun how you twisted it from one to the other so quickly.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Gabriele,
    I really loved this. I also had the rock falling from outer space but with a different storyline. I really loved what you did with this and it was so unexpected. Well done.
    xx Rowena

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I get that sense of relief. Every time we write one of these flash fictions, it’s like a performance with the audience providing direct feedback. I really love it but there have been a few weeks where I’ve been relieved that readers have got my concept and haven’t taken it the wrong way. xx Rowena

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I liked the fantasy part of her seeing another world — and then CRUNCH! She’s lunch. Wow.
    I didn’t see any sentences that stood out as overly “run-on.” Mind you, I appreciate variety. Too many equally short ones start to sound like machine gun fire. Also, you gotta do what you gotta do when the word count is so limited. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Those aren’t really run-on sentences. Don’t be so hard on yourself. If you wanted more complete separation, you could use a semi-colon or a period after *yard* and then make it *stared* instead of *staring.* My opinion? It’s fine the way it is.

    And it’s a great story, too 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad you liked, thank you. 🙂 Great advice with the semicolon and the stared, I gotta remember that. I appreciate this, I’m always trying to improve my English, and I think spelling and grammar are ok, mostly, but punctuation is a bit of a nemesis for me. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Whoa! I have a feeling that, here in the great State of Kansas where I live, I’ll be eating at the Emerald City if I ever put my hand inside a rock.

    I liked the approach, Gabi. Nice ideas and I’d like to read more, actually. Super!

    Like

  6. I’m reminded of the ancient Sci-fi movie where the aliens had a cookbook entitled “To Serve Man.” It took a while for the humans in the movie to figure out they were the main course. 🙂

    Clever use of the prompt, Gabi.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! I didn’t even think about the monolith… but you’re right. These ideas and themes float in the background and resurface when you least expect them to. 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

