Friday Fictioneers – Operation Campground

Every Wednesday we get a new picture prompt for the Fabulous Friday Fictioneers, a writing challenge graciously hosted by our Fairy Blog Mother Rochelle Wisoff-Fields.
The task of the challenge is to write a story: beginning, middle, and end, in 100 words or less. You can find all the Fictioneers’ stories when you click on the Froggy. Please read, comment, and if you like, join the fun. Everyone is welcome.


lights-of-sturgis

Image © Jan Wayne Fields. Used with permission for this Friday Fictioneers Challenge only. Any other use of this image requiresJan Wayne Field’s permission.


Operation Campground

“Torches?”

“Check.”

“Weapons?”

“Check.”

“Camouflage?”

. . .

“Camouflage? Dandelion, why don’t you wear your camouflage?”

“It’s ugly and it itches.”

“It could save your life. The monsters…”

“The monsters are asleep. I really don’t see why we must wear these silly costumes.”

“Me neither.”

“Me neither.”

“Nor I.”

“Silence! I shan’t have my orders questioned. Back into ranks, Elves. Your costume, Dand.”

“Must I?”

“Think of the loot. There’s cake. And fruit. Onwards!”

Ten minutes later

“Alarm! A monster woke up. Alarm!”

“Mum, what are these wasps doing to our cake?”

“Wasps don’t fly at night. Go back to bed, Billy.”

(100 words)


I pledge

 

74 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers – Operation Campground

      1. I am feeling better, thanks! On the positive side, the experience gave me a renewed appreciation for how nice it is to walk around without my gut clenched in horrible pain. Ah, normal life, how lovely! 🙂

        Liked by 2 people

    1. They are fierce little warriors, and you never know which magic they used to enchant their spears. You could end up tiny like them, or grow rabbit ears, or… yes, I agree, better keep out of their reach. 😀 Thank you Penny, I’m glad you had fun.

      Like

    1. Absolutely, this commander likes his troups. Especially since they change from leader to grunt every so often… but that is another story I may or may not tell. You’re all giving me ideas here. 😀 Thank you, I’m glad you enjoyed the story.

      Like

  1. Clever clever elves! Would make a lovely children’s story. (Also contains silly adults and a clever child!)
    PS We have an ‘elf shelf’ at the veg farm where I volunteer, but it contains free vegetables (not cake!) for the farm volunteer elves. I gave it its name and now it has stuck – I like being an elf and who doesn’t.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

