Project 10K (P10K) August 2017

 

 

You’ll find the rules and some of the earlier badges on the Project 10K Page.

Do you need a little incentive for writing more regularly? Then this project is for you.

1. Did you meet your writing/editing goals?
2. Did you have fun writing?
3. Did the P10K help with motivation?
4. Anything else you want to tell us?

Here are my answers:

  1. I wrote for the Friday Fictioneers, that was one of my goals and I met that. I didn’t manage to do as much outlining and planning as I wanted, but I had fun working on world-building maps and mindmaps (I love those more the more I use them) and shamelessly will grab the P badge again.
  2. Yes I did, although work-related stress slowed me down at times.
  3. Yes. I had fun when I could get myself to start working on my projects.
  4. Keep up the good work. 🙂

My goals for September are:

Continue with the Friday Fictioneers. The interaction with other writers is encouraging and educational. It’s also lovely. I need to prevent myself from using doodling on world-building maps and mind-maps for too long. That lets me fall into an ‘outlining forever’ trap and I’ll never move on. The maps are important for my world-building though, so it’s not a big deal (yet). But they are waaaayyyy too much fun…

And how did your writing go? Please leave a comment, or link to your blog if you write about it there. I’d really like to hear about your month.

And, as always, good luck, many good ideas and a lot of fun for September.

If you see this for the first time and this challenge interests you: Everyone is welcome, hop right in.

7 thoughts on “Project 10K (P10K) August 2017

  1. Boy, do I need the incentive…

    (1) I didn’t get as much done as I wanted, but then, I always seem to want to achieve five month’s worth of stuff! My goal was to keep up with posting flash fiction challenges, work on a new story, and submit some short stories to professional venues. And since I didn’t actually QUANTIFY any of those goals, I’m going to shamelessly say I met them. 🙂 I posted 6 flash fiction pieces, which is a pretty poor showing but at least tops one per week, and I wrote and revised enough of a new short story that my total word count was over 5K. And then, yes, I did yet more research on places to submit; I opened a Submittable account, including writing my dreaded author bio; I learned all about correct formatting; and I submitted two stories to paying writing magazines, hooray! Boy, clicking that “send” button is intimidating… I meant to submit more, but those are still in the works; they’ll count toward September’s goal.

    (2) When I got to writing, I did have fun, yes!

    (3) P10K – and just in general, keeping track of my writing and editing word count – continues to help motivate me, yay!

    (4) September is going to be a killer month, work-wise. Plus I’m taking a 3-day weekend off for a writers conference, which is great for inspiration and ideas but not so great for actually getting more words written (since I mostly write on weekends). So my goals are going to be modest: do at least one flash fiction piece per week, submit at least three more short stories, finish the full draft of this new story, and -gulp- write or revise *something* to bring to the writers conference for critique.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yay on all of it indeed! And congrats. You did great. I can’t even imagine actually submitting something. I can well imagine the feeling of ‘what have I done?’–and at the same time ‘I actually did it!’ Way to go, Joy.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes, that is pretty much the split-personality reaction, right there. I’m sure it will get easier with time, after I get used to sending out a bunch of submissions and getting a bunch of rejections (which seems to be the normal experience), it will just be, “Whatever, what do I have to lose? SEND.” 😉

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

